Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Memento Waltz: Division By Zero

Italian progressive metal band Memento Waltz formed in 1994 and have a couple of EPs (Overcoming 2005 and Antithesis of Time 2010) and one full length album to their credit. Division By Zero was released in 2013 and is the subject of this review. In this four piece band are Marco Piu (vocals), Giuseppe Deiana (bass), Gabriele Maciocco (drums and percussion) and Livio Poier (lead guitar).

There is no doubting the band's talent as they are top notch musicians across the board. This is technical progressive metal with a high degree of creativity and chops. Memento Waltz also don't sound like your standard progressive metal band. There is a quirkiness here that reminded me of bands like Cynic or Psychotic Waltz, quite far removed from your typical Dream Theater clones. That said I have one problem and that is the lead vocals of Marco Piu. There is no melody in his voice and his singing style is very gruff. His voice is not the worst I have heard but it will likely be an acquired taste and so far he just does not do it for me.

The album begins with "Omicron", which showcases the band's technical proficiency. Heavy drumming, angular bass and interesting guitar riffs will have your head spinning but again the vocals are just not for me. In the dynamic "Opus Alchemicum" the band put out all the stops; bass solos, jackhammer style guitar riffs, excellent drum work, and some softer moments to help one absorb it all. In fact, every song here has enough twists and turns to keep even the most savvy prog listener on his/her toes.

Take away the vocals and this is an excellent progressive metal album with a very high musical IQ. That said, Division by Zero is certainly worth checking out for any fan of heavy music. I suppose the best thing to do is listen to the samples and decide for yourself.

Track Listing:
1. Omicron
2. Opus Alchemicum
3. Europa (Jupiter II)
4. Achilles' Paradox
5. Mechdreamer
6. A New Beginning
7. Emphasize

Added: January 29th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1976
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by