Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lucid Dream: The Eleventh Illusion

Lucid Dream is an Italian rock band led by Simone Terigi. The idea behind the name Lucid Dream "comes from the Silent Knowledge and the Superior Powers to which we're only a means", according to the band. The band includes: The Infinite Source; Simone Terigi, on guitars; Gianluca Eroico, on bass; Paolo Raffo, on drums; and Alessio Calandriello, on vocals.

The Eleventh Illusion is the follow - up album to 2011's Visions from Cosmos 11, and third album for Simone Terigi, who also released Rock Meditations in 2011.

Lucid Dream has a great early Rush and Black Sabbath, (without the heavy bass), sound to their music. Alessio Calandriello's vocals definitely remind me of Geddy Lee's as he reaches high to hit those stellar notes. The album opens with female narration in Italian and then moves into heavy rock and roll created with power drums, solid guitars, and good bass.

From the opener "The Gates of Shadows" through to "The Way of 7M", you will be entertained by pulsating rhythms of rock reminiscent of the late seventies and early eighties. The Rush similarities are strongest on songs like "Leave Me Alone", which sounds like a good combination of "By Thor and the Snow Dog" and "Working Man". The bass is not as heavy as Geddy's delivery, but you can definitely hear the influence.

"River Drown" slows things down as Alessio Calandriello delivers some of his best vocals on the album. It is definitely an album highlight.

"The Lightseeker" on the other hand is the longest and deepest track on the album at over 8 minutes. This time they unleash the deep bass and box in your ears with walls of drums and percussion. Alessio Calandriello responds with some of his highest highs. The heavier side of this track brings in that early Black Sabbath sound.

"Connections" is a solid, short guitar solo that breaks up the action perfectly. I only wish it was longer. It does blend into the lead guitar and bass on "Two Suns in the Sunrise", another album highlight full of deep emotion.

"The Song of the Beyond" is another excellent album highlight full of soft vocals and acoustic guitar.

The title track "The Eleventh Illusion" is another album highlight full of power lead electric guitar, strong bass, and pulsing drums.

"The Pulse of Infinity" is an excellent title for this dreamy, spacey guitar and keyboard soundscape.

"The Way of 7M" is an excellent female narrated poem or story spoken in Italian down by a beachside fire. You can hear the waves and fire crackle as she speaks. Excellent ending.

This is a solid release for anyone who likes that early era of Rush that the band has since abandoned. It will bring back memories while at the same time create new ones.

Track Listing:

01. The Gates of Shadows
02. Evolution
03. Leave Me Alone
04. River Drained
05. The Lightseeker
06. Back to Cosmos 11
07. Connections
08. Two Suns in the Sunrise
09. The Song of the Beyond
10. Black
11. The Eleventh Illusion
12. The Pulse of Infinity
13. The Way of 7M

Added: January 29th 2014
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2676
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by