Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hawkwind: Space Hawks

Those ever dependable space rock legends Hawkwind are back with their 29th studio album...yes, you read that right, 29, in the form of Space Hawks, a collection of new songs, rarities from the vaults, and re-recorded classics. On board for this go-round are perennial leader Dave Brock (guitar/vocals), Tim Blake (keyboards), Richard Chadwick (drums), Niall Hone (bass), Mr Dibs (bass/cello), and Dead Fred (keyboards). With 16 tracks in total, Space Hawks is another journey into the stratosphere for all the legions of Hawkwind fans.

The band for the most part seems to be in their 'space metal' persona here, not surprising considering they are practically celebrating their early '70s classic Warrior on the Edge of Time here with some very strong new versions of standout songs from that space rock/prog/metal gem. "Assault & Battery", "Golden Void", and "Demented Man" just crackle with energy here, bubbling synths and insistent riffing doing just what you'd expect them to. "Seasons", from last years Onward album, gets a powerful remix treatment (more 'metal' perhaps?), as does "Sentinel" & "Sunship" from the very fine Blood of the Earth album from a few years back. There's also a driving, futuristic take on "Sonic Attack", as well as a pummeling version of the classic "Masters of the Universe".

Of real interest though for the hardcore fans will be the brand new songs. "Sacrosanct" is a keyboard lovers dream, with blipping synths, sequencers, as well as guitars flying about the mix over programmed, space age rhythms. "Touch" is an ominous piece, with layers of synth drones that will certainly appeal to Tangerine Dream fans, and "Where Are They Now" is an uptempo heavy rocker, filled with Brock's tasty riffing and melodic soloing. More sumptuous keyboards appear on the brief "Lonely Moon", and "We Two Are One" again sees the Hawks go for fast paced space metal.

Toss in a few other rarities from the Hawkwind Light Orchestra and Brock's solo works, and you have a fun, well rounded new release from the space rock pioneers that has a little something for everyone.

Track Listing
1. Seasons - (remix from Onward)
2. Assault & Battery- New studio recording ( Original from Warrior On The Edge Of Time)
3. Golden Void - New studio recording (from Warrior On The Edge Of Time)
4. Where Are They Now
5. Sonic Attack - New Studio Recording
6. Demented Man - New studio recording (from WarriorOn The Edge Of Time )
7. We two are one - New Track
8. We Took the Wrong Step - (From Dave Brock solo album Looking for Love in the lost land of dreams)
9. Masters of the Universe - New studio recording with Huw.
10. Sacrosanct - New
11. Sentinel - (remix from Blood Of The Earth)
12. Its all Lies - (from Stellar Variations - Hawkwind Light Orchestra)
13. Touch - New Studio Recording
14. The Chumps are Jumping - New Studio Recording
15. Lonely Moon - New Studio Recording
16. Sunship - BOTE (remix from Blood Of The Earth)

Added: January 24th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2321
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by