Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Twilight Ophera: The End Of Halcyon Age

Moments of utter brilliance here (such as on "The End Of Halcyon" and "Leperthrone") but not much that puts this outfit ahead of Dimmu and Cradle of Filth. That said, this Finnish collective manages to stand above mere imitators and give the odd nod or two to originality, even bridging the distance between the raw and symphonic Emperor and dramatic '80s radio metal in the opening strains of "Gothic Prelude To Capricious Equanimity," before launching full-on into a barrage of evil sonic lust. Although some of the riffs tend to blend together here, there's enough promise to make me interested in the next Twilight Ophera outing. Recommended as an introduction to a band that will soon achieve things much greater than this.

Track Listing:
1. Chaosworm (5:44)
2. Trapped In A Husk Of A White Crow (4: 21)
3. Bow Before My Dark (4:17)
4. The End Of Halcyon (5:04)
5. Pseudogods (5:39)
6. Leperthrone (5:39)
7. Gothic Prelude To Capricious Equanimity (5:17)
8. Cruciferious Lunacy (4:15)
9. Paragon Of Pregnant Night (6:06)
Total Time: 46:30

Added: July 18th 2004
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 2737
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by