Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tuval Cain: Forging the Future

Tuval Cain is a project developed by David Lawrence Kuhn who immigrated to Israel from the United States in 2002. Forging the Future is the band's debut album. There is no doubt Lawrence plays a key role here as he wrote all the music and lyrics and adds keyboards. However, he has a fine band of musicians behind him adding traditional instruments (guitar, bass, drums) as well as flute, sax and shofar (an instrument constructed out of a ram's horn).

Forging the Future is chalk full of nice melodies, very good playing and with more than a nod to '70s rock icons like Deep Purple and Jethro Tull, the feel is very retro. Tull, in particular, seems to be an important influence on the album.

"Nomad", the album's first track, is an up-tempo number with a laid back groove, excellent keyboard work and some nice sax embellishments. Fans of '70s rock will surely like this. "Wandering I" features some fine flute playing and reminded me more than a little of Jethro Tull. Van Morrison also came to mind while listening. "Spiral Down" is a jazz rock affair with flute weaving through the soundscape, again harkening back to Tull and maybe some Santana as well. The guitar driven "Power" reminded me of classic Deep Purple while "A Distant Well" has a folksy vibe, with Tull coming to mind yet again. "No More Need" has a sort of whimsy minstrel feel with nice acoustic guitar, flute and vocals. One of my favourites is "Jonah" with its deeply rich vocals and wonderful interplay between guitar and piano.

Forging the Future is a very good album of '70s style rock that should appeal to the flower child in all of us.

Track Listing:
1. Nomad (4:32)
2. Wandering I (4:39)
3. Spiral Down (5:51)
4. Power (4:10)
5. A Distant Well (5:58)
6. Looking Glass Love (Predatory Games) (3:40)
7. No More Need (3:57)
8. Don't Try To Change Me (4:00)
9. There Will Be Time (4:28)
10. Jonah's Doubt (1:58)
11. Jonah (5:09)
12. The World Is My Dominion (5:26)
13. Retrobate (4:28)

Added: January 16th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2135
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by