Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Paradise Lost: Tragic Illusion

Just where have the last 25 years gone? Thankfully still a prominent fixture in the Metal world, it's good to see the band compile all these songs onto one slab of gothic infused Metal. In celebration of their 25th anniversary tour Paradise Lost have released this collection of B-sides and rare tracks which were originally scattered around various releases. Now I have to be honest this is very much a hit or miss affair, whilst 'Loneliness Remains' & Ending Through Changes' are a couple of tracks that depict the Paradise Lost sound perfectly the tracks with orchestration reduce the impact of the original recordings. 'Faith Divides Us - Death Unites Us' is one of the most powerful haunting tracks of the last 20 years but with the added dimension of strings and various parping horns it somehow loses its impact. You still get plenty of the trademark bludgeoning atmosphere that Paradise Lost are renowned for but just when you find the mood comfortable out they come with a cover version of an Everything But The Girl cover! Yes it's dark and gloomy but I'm sure there's plenty of more deserving tracks/bands they could have chosen. Nick Holmes deliver's a moody deep performance on the collection of tracks which also sees re-recordings of 'Gothic & Our Saviour' .

For the diehard fan this will be a must have to add to their collection, for the general fan it's also an attractive proposition simply for the convenience of having all the tracks on one disc. With a career this varied and broad I'm sure they could have complemented it with a live album to make it a sweeter option, what it does highlight however is that some of the tracks Paradise Lost discard are still of a superior quality to many established bands albums.

Track Listing:-
1. Loneliness Remains
2. Never Take Me Alive (SPEAR OF DESTINY cover version)
3. Ending Through Changes
4. The Last Fallen Saviour
5. Last Regret (Lost in Prague Orchestra Mix)
6. Faith Divides Us - Death Unites Us (Lost in Prague Orchestra Mix)
7. Cardinal Zero
8. Back On Disaster
9. Sons Of Perdition
10. Godless
11. Missing (EVERYTHING BUT THE GIRL cover version)
12. Silent in Heart
13. Gothic 2013
14. Our Saviour 2013

Added: January 12th 2014
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2693
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by