Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Insomnium: Ephemeral

"Ephemeral" is the new single from Finnish melodic/melancholy death metal act Insomnium, and also the title of this brief little 4 song EP, as the band are busy working on their follow-up to 2011's One For Sorrow, to be released sometime in 2014. The title track is an upbeat (upbeat for Insomnium anyway), atmospheric death metal number, complete with chugging riffs and plenty of catchy keyboard textures. The growling vocals from this band are always well done, and they perfectly complement the music on this addicting song, which it sounds like will be included on the bands upcoming studio release. "The Emergence" is a short keyboard oriented instrumental, while "The Swarm" features acoustic guitar, leaving the closing number "The Descent" to combine both keyboards and guitar for a lovely little instrumental ditty. While a nice listen, none of these three instrumental tracks will be an essential listen save for the most die-hard of fans, but the title track is a good one, and only available as a digital download for now. Check it out now, or wait to hear it and the rest of the new album sometime later this year.

Track Listing
1) Ephemeral
2) The Emergence
3) The Swarm
4) The Descent

Added: January 5th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1920
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by