Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Saga: Spin It Again! Live in Munich (Blu-ray & CD)

One of the most underrated progressive rock bands of all time, Canadian act Saga show here on their latest live set Spin It Again! Live in Munich just how lethal a band they still are, now 35+ years into their career. This live concert, filmed in Munich, Germany at the end of their tour for the studio album 20/20 (also available as a 2CD set with the full show), highlights the return of vocalist Michael Sadler to the band, who left for 5 years before rejoining, finding the pull of Saga impossible to resist. Germany happens to be the bands home away from home, as the country has perhaps their most rabid fanbase, and you can see and feel the love throughout this 19 song set between Saga and the audience.

Expertly filmed in high definition, Spin It Again! Live in Munich is an astounding concert experience from these Canadian proggers. Though they have many live videos to their credit, the band is really on fire here and still at the top of their game. The 2013 line-up includes Sadler (vocals, keyboards, bass), Ian Crichton (lead guitar), Jim Crichton (bass, keyboards), Jim Gilmour (keyboards, vocals), and Mike Thorne (drums). Many of Saga's most beloved songs are here, as well as strong newer numbers off the 20/20 album, so there are highlights at every turn. Classics like "Mouse in a Maze", "You're Not Alone", "Careful Where You Step", "Time's Up", "Humble Stance", "Wind Him Up", "Don't Be Late" , and of course "One the Loose" perfectly match up with newer gems such as "Anywhere You Want to Go", "Spin It Again", and "Six Feet Under". One of the most incredible tracks here is the instrumental song "Corkentellis", a blistering piece featuring jaw dropping guitar, keyboard, and drum exchanges, as Saga give a band like Dream Theater a run for their money. Lovers of complex progressive rock will just have a blast with this one. Ian Crichton proves throughout this set why he is one of the most talented guitarists (and underrated) in all of rock, as his blazing runs, crunchy riffs, and killer tone permeates each and every song. Gilmour is a wizard on the keyboards, and the rhythm team are rock solid, with Sandler still in fine form, delivering his always strong and unique vocals.

As a bonus on the Blu-ray you get some fun Behind the Scenes interviews with the band & road crew, which makes for an entertaining viewing, plus you really hear from them just how special their relationship is with the German fans. It's a shame that the US audiences don't share the same appreciation for this great band. And, kudos to Edel/Eagle Rock/Ear Music for also putting out the show on a blistering 2 CD set, so you can take it along in the car with you or load up on your portable music device to have live Saga music wherever you go. Whichever option you get (hey, get both!), be prepared for a killer musical experience.

Track Listing
1. Anywhere You Wanna Go
2. Mouse In A Maze
3. Careful Where You Step
4. The Perfectionist
5. You re Not Alone
6. Spin It Again
7. Corkentellis
8. The Flyer
9. Fish Beat
10. Six Feet Under
11. The Cross
12. Time's Up
13. Scratching The Surface
14. Tired World (Chapter 6)
15. Humble Stance
16. On the Loose
17. Wind Him Up
18. Framed
19. Don't Be Late (Chapter 2)

Added: January 4th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2538
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by