Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sweet: Hits

Legendary glam/pop/hard rock act Sweet are the latest to jump on the bandwagon of re-recording some of their best songs for a Hits package. Here we have the Andy Scott version of Sweet, along with vocalist/bassist Pete Lincoln, drummer Bruce Bisland, and guitarist/keyboard player Tony O'Hora doing justice to many of their unforgettable songs. Doing 'justice' probably is an understatement, as this line-up really has injected plenty of excitement into these tunes (not that they weren't exciting to begin with), making this a very fun listen for any Sweet fan.

Sweet always had a penchant for crafting catchy pop tunes that rocked pretty hard, and most of their memorable tunes are included here in this set, and given a modern production value. Scott & O'Hara's guitars are cranked up on heavy rockers "Blockbuster", "Ballroom Blitz", "Hellraiser", "Action" and the ultra catchy "Fox on the Run". Addicting bubblegum fare such as "Little Willy", Wig Wam Bam" and "Teenage Rampage", as well as the alluring pop/prog of "Love is Like Oxygen". The bonus medley of "Co Co/Funny Funny/Poppa Joe" is a ton of fun as well. Lead vocalist Lincoln is a perfect fit for this version of Sweet and does a fantastic job on these classics. Forget about an aging band giving tired versions of old favorites, as that is far from the truth here. Just listen to these guys crank out the metal on the crunchy "Turn it Down"....whew! That's what I'm talking about!

As Angel Air states on the press sheet "Hits is quite simply 13 of the greatest Sweet tracks ever recorded", and they just might be right. This is an enjoyable set that will take you back to a golden era, and a vibrant, modern re-imagining of some unforgettable songs.

Track Listing
1. Blockbuster 3:23
2. Ballroom Blitz 3:50
3. Fox On The Run 3:32
4. Little Willy 3:14
5. Hellraiser 3:20
6. Wig Wam Bam 3:02
7. Teenage Rampage 3:44
8. Love Is Like Oxygen 4:16
9. Action 3:46
10. The Six Teens 4:26
11. Turn It Down 3:17
12. Peppermint Twist 3:47
13. Medley: Co Co / Funny People / Poppa Joe (Bonus Track) 6:28

Added: December 20th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Angel Air Records
Hits: 1524
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by