Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deckchair Poets: Who Needs Pyjamas

Deckchair Poets is another supergroup collaboration made up of Lynden Williams, on vocals; Bob Cooke, on guitars; Ollie Hannifan, on guitars; Geoff Downes, on keyboards; Nick D'Virgilio, on drums; and Ashley Cutler, on bass guitar. The band has released a previous album Jerusalem Escalator in 2009. Who Needs Pyjamas was released by Angel Air on the 7th of October 2013.

The interesting band name Deckchair Poets "was plucked from the ether when it became apparent that the quirky nature of the songs chosen for the album, Who Needs Pyjamas?, didn't conform to the accepted Jerusalem template of ROCKING PNEUMONIA, they were an entirely different virus" (, 2013).

The album is an interesting mix of rock and progressive rock tracks all timing in under five and a half minutes. Eighteen tracks of interesting music full of original themes and sounds. The track titles and lyrics at times will bring a smile to your face. Serious musicians with solid backgrounds and resumes having fun with new sounds and music designed to please all. Not a bad concept at all.

"One Ugly Child" and "You're So Square" mix a 50's rockabilly style with the progressive and straight ahead rock tracks that fill this album. My favourite track is the bluesy "Hobgoblins and Fiends".

This is a playful album full of songs that will easily take your mind off your cares and concerns. Sit back and relax and let the Deckchair Poets provide their interesting mix of rock classic and modern sounds.

Track Listing:

01 Toilet - the household necessities trilogy: part 1
02 Brown Trousers
03 Washing Machine - the household necessities trilogy: part 2
04 Human Pie
05 One Ugly Child
06 Buddha in the Nude
07 You're So Square [Baby I Don't Care]
08 Sunshine
09 Silverfish
10 Walking in a Crocodile
11 Whipsnade Escapees
12 Elephants, not Ivory
13 Crem'
14 You'll Never Catch This Boy
15 Wicked Annabella
16 Refrigerator - the household necessities trilogy: part 3
17 Sunset Strip
18 Hobgoblins and Fiends

Added: December 18th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2738
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by