Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

R-Evolution Band: The Dark Side of the Wall 1979 - 2013

The Dark Side of the Moon and The Wall, two of Pink Floyd's greatest albums and some of the best music of the late 20th Century. What if you brought the highlights of the two albums together in one single album? Add to that concept blending other genres of music and instruments not used on the original albums to help create a new sound for these over 40 year old albums. Well, R-Evolution band has done just that with The Dark Side of the Wall 1979 2013.

R-Evolution band is a Milan Italian band made up of Vittorio Sabelli, on clarinet, vocals, alto & baritone sax; Marcello Malatesta, on keys, CPU programming, and synth; Svedonio, on guitars; Graziano Brufani, on bass; and Oreste Sbarra, on drums. The band formed in 2010 under the leadership of multi-instrumentalist and composer Vittorio Sabelli.

The Dark Side of the Wall is the latest album from the band following their debut Versus. The band decided to deconstruct the two Pink Floyd classics and reconstruct them with their own sounds adding ethno-rock, speed metal, hardcore, free jazz style, electronic, urban and reggae flavors.

The album opens with Japanese female narration and then proceeds powerfully into the grand Wall opener "In The Flesh?" with little alteration. The power is there and all of the elements except the most powerful Roger Waters vocals. Sax and keyboards intercede after the powerful drums and guitar opening to offer a new perspective. "The Thin Ice" has a more ethereal sound to it full of keyboards and clarinet. Vittorio Sabelli's vocals fall short of the magnificence of the author Waters, but the sax work is excellent.

The entire album winds through this new version twisting and turning the sounds while retaining the overall theme of the albums. This album is an interesting interpretation of the originals. If you want to hear some of the main track themes filled with new flavors and musicianship, then I think you will enjoy this album. If you like the original or the many other interpretations and tributes that have been produced since the original albums were released then this may be one brick too many.

Track Listing:

01. In The Flesh? (3:16)
02. The Thin Ice (3:47)
03. Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 1 (3:21)
04. The Baddest Days Of Your Life (0:57)
05. Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 2 (3:06)
06. Mother (5:29)
07. Goodbye Blue Sky (2:45)
09. Empty Space (0.58)
10. Young Lust (5:28) 11. One Of My Bad Days (1:49)
12. Requiem: Funeral Of Mary II/Don't Leave Me Now (1:50)
13. Cold As A Waltz (1:42)
14. Another Brick In The Wall Pt. 3 (1:04)
15. Hey You/Intermede (3:32)
16. Is Anybody Out There? (2:26)
17. Nobody (4:03)
18. We'll Meet Again (2:24)
19. Bring The Boys Back Home (0.41)
20. Comfortably Numb (2:32)
21. The Show Must Go Latin (1:26)
22. In The Flesh? (2:10)
23. Run Like Bells (2:55)
24. Another Rock In The Wall (1:12)
25. Waiting For The Worms (2:12)
26. The Trial (5:11)
27. The Dark Side Of The Wall (0.41)

Added: December 18th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 3187
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by