Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Generation Kill: We're All Gonna Die

The sophomore release from the all star metal collaboration known as Generation Kill sees the band picking up right where they left off. We're All Gonna Die once again fuses thrash, hardcore, bits of doom as well as punk into a pretty entertaining sound that brings all the elements coming from each member into play. Comprised of current Exodus vocalist Rob Dukes, bassist Rob Moschetti (ex-Pro-Pain, M.O.D.), guitarist Jason Trenczer (ex-Mutilation), and drummer Jim DeMaria (ex-Merauder), Generation Kill have done their best to give their fans a varied platter here that keeps you guessing from track to track.

After the opening thrash/core blast of "Born to Serve", which sees Duke barking over plenty of furious riffs and speedy rhythms, the band slows down for the moody "Prophets of War", an interesting track that has some Metallica styled moments and some really strong melodic vocals from Dukes. That style goes even further into melancholic doom on the slow dirge "Death Comes Calling", as ominous riffs and Dukes' yearning vocals really provide something different for the band. Traditional thrash comes back into play on the raging "Friendly Fire", complete with gang styled vocals and lots of neck snapping guitar riffs, while "Carny Love" is a track that, well, is pretty hard to describe. Korn meets Marilyn Manson meets Linkin Park? Hard to say, but it's just plain weird. "Vegas" sees things pop right back into thrash territory, and it's a good one with some sizzling riffs and a venomous vocal from Dukes. The near 8-minute long "There is No Hope" is one of the more intriguing pieces on the album, as the band throws in some thrash as well as a cool prog-rock meets doom element. And, to bash you over the head on your way out, the album ends with the quick title track, a manic punk/hardcore styled bruiser complete with some flashy guitar solos courtesy of Trenczer.

If you liked their debut and have followed the career's of these musicians, We're All Gonna Die should prove to be plenty of fun. While nothing groundbreaking, there's a lot of variety here that shows a band who knows how to mix things up, and you have to give them kudos for that.

Track Listing
1. Born to Serve
2. Prophets of War
3. Death Comes Calling
4. Friendly Fire
5. Carny Love
6. Vegas
7. There Is No Hope
8. We're All Gonna Die

Added: December 14th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2209
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by