Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Twenty Committee, The: A Lifeblood Psalm

I get a little excited when I read that a drummer also provides vocals on an album; a little more so when 3 of 5 band members sing. Reading that A Lifeblood Psalm was recorded at Radiant Records Nashville by Jerry Guidroz also upped my expectations (Neal Morse of Spock's Beard and Transatlantic fame is signed to Radiant Records and Jerry has produced Neal Morse and Transatlantic). All these factors before one note is heard? I admit I had high hopes.

"Introduction" features different voices speaking in each ear and a light melody on guitar and piano with voice - immediately Echolyn is brought to mind. "How Wonderful" has a great rhythm and chord progression. The piano and acoustic guitar carry the tune and I can detect a very patient drummer underneath it all, tasteful crashes and great sounding ride cymbal. I hear a hammond organ and everything blossoms with the harmony vocals at the chorus. There is a synth solo that flies around and leaves for a guitar solo - is that a whammy pedal kicking the guitar up a few octaves? There is an energy to this song; a brightness, positivity.

The lead vocals of Geoffrey Langley are very safe, clean, and non-abrasive but this is a compliment! Some prog rock vocalists are poor singers or sing too high but Geoffrey and others (Justin Carlton provides vocals and guitars; Joe Henderson plays drums and sings) have a great vocal chemistry and again I'm reminded of Echolyn. Lead guitar is played by Steve Kostas and bass is played by Richmond Carlton.

"Her Voice" features some jazzy chords and a smooth fast tempo. A guitar solo comes in after about 3 minutes and then the whole song derails into a cacophony – if you know The Grateful Dead you may remember when their jams break down and Jerry would imitate a tiger roar with his guitar pedals? That. The rhythm picks up and breaks down again. (I wonder about this bands' live shows… are they a prog rock jam band?). Syncopated guitar and hammond antics appear in the last third of the track.

The five-part suite "The Knowledge Enterprise" is a classic example of a progressive rock epic. Track 5 is an instrumental adventure and the vocal harmonies of track 6 are brilliant.

This is a debut and there is so much promise for The Twenty Committee I want to share this with all my prog rock friends! Please visit their Bandcamp page and spend $5 and get your December soundtrack on.

Track Listing
1. Introduction 1:49
2. How Wonderful 7:03
3. Her Voice 10:08
4. Airtight 5:13
The Knowledge Enterprise
5 Overture 3:20
6 Conceivers and Deceivers 4:53
7 Tonight 6:23
8 With These Eyes 5:29
9 Finale 1:27
Total 45:00

Added: December 3rd 2013
Reviewer: Ryan Good
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2533
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by