Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hawkins, Fiona Joy: Sensual Journeys

Fiona Joy Hawkins has been referred to as the 'Australian Enya'. Hawkins is an Australian composer, vocalist, and pianist. She was born in Cessnock, New South Wales, to a creative family, and trained as a classical pianist. She is currently a 2013 Independent Music Awards Finalist for Best New Age Album and Best LIVE Performance. She was also an ARIA Finalist in 2009 with Blue Dream, (ABC Music). Currently she is travelling the US touring with Trysette promoting the release of the album 600 Years in a Moment.

Sensual Journeys is the album Hawkins released in 2012, prior to her latest album. It is a sensual journey through her beautiful new age style of soft vocals set to inspired piano. On this album, like her latest album 600 Years in a Moment, Hawkins collaborates with some inspired artists to create an aural journey that both soothes and inspires. It will take your dreams and mind to higher thought levels if you put on those headphones and indulge in its inner tranquillity.

The list of collaborators is long, (in fact they take up a page of her CD booklet in alphabetical order), and full of dynamic talent that include Tony Levin on bass, and Will Ackerman on acoustic guitar, mandolin, and hopi. Hawkins shares the microphone with several top male and female vocalists demonstrating her willingness to try to achieve the perfect sound with the perfect artists.

The opening track, "Contemplating", is a perfect example of achieving the presence of understanding to help lift the listener's thinking beyond the norm. The piano, guitar, lead male and female vocals almost lift the listener on a journey or flight to their favourite place. Like a beautiful flyover that you might imagine from some of the aerial DVD/Blu-ray trips over exotic lands.

The second track is named "Joy". Well after all it is Fiona Hawkins middle name. The track delivers its message with feeling as emotional happiness fills this soundscape…along with the quiet rhythm of Michael Jackson's didgeridoo.

"Flight of the Snowbird" and "Gliding on Air" both continues the wonderful feeling of floating above all of the daily work and considerations we all encounter. They both lift your senses and provide inspiration to grander visions.

The rest of the tracks on the album are up to the high standards already set by the previous tracks mentioned. "The Midnight Interlude" deserves special mention because of the Gaelic lyrics and the wonderful tribute to mothers delivered within its lyrics, as piano and soft cello play with Jill Haley singing warmly. In fact, Hawkins dedicates this album, "To all our Mothers, Past, present and our shared Mother…Earth", on the back cover of the CD booklet. It is truly a relaxing and mind healing album that will calm and help you think beyond the present.

Put on your headset, close your eyes and open your mind to this sensuous adventure.

Track Listing:

1. Contemplating
2. Joy
3. Flight of the Snowbird
4. Gliding on Air
5. From the Outside
6. Song Phonique
7. Frozen Rose
8. The Midnight Interlude
9. Moving On
10. White View
11. View from My Studio (live)

Added: November 20th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1450
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by