Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sinnergod: The Seven Deadly Sinphonies

A young Gothic, yet reasonably straight up UK Metal act, Sinnergod deliver their The Seven Deadly Sinphonies album featuring seven new tracks and two remixed bonus cuts from previous releases. Co-produced by Steve Wray (Blaze Bayley/Rise To Addiction/Soldierfield), one thing this album most certainly is, is assertive, with a sound that positively blasts through a huge kick drum barrage and guitars which hammer the message home, while retaining a colourful edge. It makes for a mighty first impression, with the dark messages and bleak outlooks behind much of what Sinnergod deliver, muscled up extensively and all the more impressive for being so.

So the sound is there and the songs are catchy, and when you add a cool throaty howl behind the mic and stinging guitars, TSDS really should come together to be slightly more than it is. Not that this is even close to being substandard fare, but even while you are banging your head in appreciation and finding yourself singing the chorus line to "The Thirst", long after it has finished, there just seems to be an element or two missing. A rap section during "Unknown" hints at the problem, a short almost Death Metal vocal also suggests where the issue lies, interesting and well delivered spoken word sections also offer a conundrum, with a nagging feeling that Sinnergod haven't quite yet decided whether they want to Gothic chic, Metal messiahs, teen poster boys, or Danzig heavy Rock 'n' Rollers. None are poor aspirations, yet spliced together as they are in places here, they simply leave a feeling that none are properly seen through or completely believed in.

Most of the album still manages to rise above these niggles and it has to be said that in the main, this is an atmospheric and threatening release which rolls at pace and drags you willingly along for the ride. "Through It All" broods and stomps, piano sparking off a deep riff, "Hello Again" thumps on a mighty thwack of kick drum blasts, "Se7en" heightens the atmosphere with almost Whitesnake like guitars sounding surprisingly at home against the Gothic vocals and "Unknown" has an impressive wall of guitars which keenly dips into and then out of view.

In the end this is a promising, although short considering two of the nine songs aren't actually new (even if both "Ugly" and "Bang You're Dead" are amongst the best fare on show), collection which delivers through the sheer energy with which it is laid down and an excellent production. However, for my money, Sinnergod really need to work out exactly what they want to be before they will completely deliver on the promise which is shown here in abundance.

Track Listing
1 Overture
2 The Thirst
3 Hello Again
4 Through It All
5 Breathe
6 Unknown
7 Se7en
8 Bang You're Dead (Bonus)
9 Ugly (Bonus)

Added: November 20th 2013
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Sinnergod at BigCartel
Hits: 2038
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by