Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rolling Stones, The: Sweet Summer Sun-Hyde Park Live (Blu-ray)

To cap off their 50th Anniversary Tour (dubbed '50 and Counting'), rock legends The Rolling Stones returned to the stage of one of their most historic concerts of the '60s, Hyde Park, almost 44 years to the day of that first appearance. Playing two shows in this great outdoor setting (July 6 & 13, 203), this spectacular Blu-ray contains pretty much the entire show (save for "Tumbling Dice" and "All Down the Line") that the band performed on these dates, and it's arguably the best looking & sounding video the band has released to date. Expert camera work and sparkling video & audio quality highlight what is just a great performance from the Stones in front of a huge outdoor audience on a clear night in London. Mick Jagger has not lost a step in 50 years, as his voice is in fine form throughout this set and he rarely stays still for a second, prancing around the stage, engaging with the audience, and running up and down the cat walk. He, along with Keith Richards, Ronnie Wood, and Charlie Watts, all look every bit their late '60s/early '70s ages, but they still do these classic songs justice and show that there's plenty of fire left in the tank.

The over 100,000 strong at Hyde Park that day got treated to rousing renditions of "Start Me Up", "Happy", "Miss You", "Jumpin' Jack Flash", "Honky Tonk Woman", and "Brown Sugar", but it's the killer and emotional "Gimme Shelter", "You Got the Silver", and especially "Midnight Rambler", complete with the return of Mick Taylor on scorching lead guitar, that really makes this such a special concert. Great to see the band unleash their new single "Doom and Gloom", a real strong tune that rocks hard and is one of the best things the band has written in years. Toss in "It's Only Rock and Roll", "Emotional Rescue", "Paint it Black", "Street Fighting Man", "You Can't Always Get What You Want", and a fun "Sympathy For the Devil", along with a few others, and you have a perfect greatest hits set from the 'words greatest rock 'n' roll band'.

Other than the three bonus tracks, this Blu-ray is lacking any other supplemental material. The quality of the recording though is spectacular, so crank up your home theater system and enjoy this one on your big screen TV in high definition and feel like you are right there in the front row.

Track Listing
1) Start Me Up
2) It's Only Rock 'n' Roll
3) Street Fighting Man
4) Ruby Tuesday
5) Doom And Gloom
6) Honky Tonk Women
7) You Got The Silver
8) Happy
9) Miss You
10) Midnight Rambler
11) Gimme Shelter
12) Jumpin' Jack Flash
13) Sympathy For The Devil
14) Brown Sugar
15) You Can't Always Get What You Want
16) (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
Bonus Tracks
17) Emotional Rescue
18) Paint it Black
19) Before They Make Me Run

Added: November 17th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1949
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by