Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mystic Prophecy: Killhammer

The ever consistent hard striking metal group Mystic Prophecy haven't let us down thus far with their seven previous releases. Killhammer Mystic Prophecy's new album has more of the right stuff with a magnetizing union of power and thrash metal and that melodic element isn't forgotten. Original member and vocalist R.D. Liapakis remains a strong part of this bands appeal his commanding vocals are always welcome.

The song titles scream themes of death and devastation on Killhammer, with an album name such as this and given the contents of past albums would you expect or accept anything less than total metal annihilation from Mystic Prophecy. No musical surprises on Killhammer this is the same band giving us more of what we have come to expect. The title track is Mystic Prophecy in their slow and powerful mode, then cranking it up next for "Armies Of Hell" as an all out riff assault is unleashed and backing it off slightly for the very melodic "To Hell And Back". "Kill The Beast" really gets the blood pumping as the drums are fired up and the intense riffs are flowing free, you can't help but relish this kind of heavier power metal that the likes of Mystic Prophecy, Brainstorm and Firewind do so well. "Hate Black" actually reminded me of Brainstorm's totally awesome "Shiva's Kiss" one of my all time favourite metal tracks and this song by Mystic Prophecy potently moves along at a similar slow pace and is also very catchy. Mystic Prophecy have a great knack of incorporating such heavy riffs with powerhouse drumming and then incorporating that catchy melodic chorus that works so well, as you find once again on this release with songs like "Children Of The Damned " and "Angels Of Fire". Finally and with some power metal additions Mystic Prophecy perform a solid cover of Ozzy's "Crazy Train" following on from the vigorous version of "Miracle Man" that appeared on their last album Ravenlord, and Satanic Curses included a beefed up "Paranoid" cover.

Killhammer's limited edition includes a DVD with Mystic Prophecy performing at ProgPower Fest in Atlanta and it's a good one that probably could have had a seperate release. Featuring many of their more memorable songs like "Savage Souls', "Evil Empires" and "Satanic Curses". So as a bonus inclusion and as the cost is not a lot more than the standard edition it's a true value package, there is also footage of the band getting out and about on tour. I was sold on the contents but not so much the packaging of this version, but in the end it's the music that really matters and Mystic Prophecy have gone and done it once again as the heavy metal feast on Killhammer rocks.

CD Track listing
1. Killhammer
2. Armies of hell
3. To hell and back
4. Kill the beast
5. Hate black
6. Children of the damned
7. 300 in blood
8. Angels of fire
9. Warriors of the northern seas
10. Set the world on fire
11. Crazy train

DVD Track listing
1. Eyes of the devil
2. Savage souls
3. Die now
4. Sacrifice me
5. Endless fire
6. Hollow
7. Dark forces
8. Satanic curses
9. We kill you die
10. Ravenlord
11. Paranoid
12. Evil empires

Added: November 15th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2668
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by