Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Daemonia: Dawn of the Dead/Zombi

Many will probably remember that back in the '70s, Italian prog/horror soundtrack act Goblin did the music to the cult classic Zombi/Dawn of the Dead film, so here we are in 2013 and Claudio Simonetti, along with the Goblin sister act Daemonia, have revisited this soundtrack and given it a new spin. Joining the keyboard maestro is Bruno Previtali on Guitar, bassist Federico Amorosi, and drummer Titta Tani. As fascinating as the old soundtrack recording is, for some it hasn't aged well and is really quite dated, so these new recordings give these pieces an updated feel and even some added muscle. The upbeat "Zaratozom" for instance crackles with metallic guitar riffs & lead lines while buzzing synth textures fly around the mix. Simonetti does a great job of layering in those keyboards on the complex "La Caccia", even trading unison lines with Previtali, while both "L'Alba Dei Morti Viventi" and "Zombi" remain as eerie & chilling as they did back on the original soundtrack, just with a more updated feel. Prog fans will love the soaring, majestic sounds of "Oblio" (Simonetti's keyboards are lovely here), and if you can appreciate some melodic jazz-fusion, "Supermarket" has a great groove and some silky organ from Claudio.

The band & Black Widow Records have included a few bonus tracks here, with the recreation of the classic Goblin song "Roller" being the standout. The original Roller album itself is a little forgotten gem of '70s Italian prog, and here Daemonia give the title song some extra thump with heavy guitar riffs and loads of symphonic keyboards, especially some amazing organ. A progressive metal take on "Toccata E Fuga" also impresses, and Simonetti's melodic piano meets up with crushing guitar on the creepy "Il Cartaio".

The timing of this album couldn't be better, with all the interest in The Walking Dead TV show and movies about Zombies seemingly coming out every month, why not revisit the soundtrack to one of the classic films of the genre? Well done guys.

Track Listing
1. L'Alba Dei Morti Viventi (6:16)
2. Zombi (4:32)
3. At The Safari (3:43)
4. Torte In Faccia (1:51)
5. Zaratozom (3:21)
6. La Caccia (3:43)
7. Tirassegno (2:53)
8. Oblio (5:40)
9. Risveglio (1:05)
10. Zombi Sexy (2:21)
11. Supermarket (3:17)
(bonus tracks)
12. Roller (5:05)
13. Toccata E Fuga (5:11)
14. Il Cartaio (4:31)

Added: November 9th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Black Widow Records
Hits: 2179
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by