Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Critical Solution: Evil Never Dies

Evil Never Dies is a concept thrash metal album by Norwegian group Critical Solution. Mixed and produced by Andy La Rocque(King Diamond) who also performs on this one along with another guest appearance by Whitfield Crane (Ugly Kid Joe).

Critical Solution originated in 2005 and their first release was a five track EP Evidence Of Things Unseen in 2011. So Evil Never Dies is Critical Solution's first full length album with fourteen songs three of which are covers they have recorded of "Speed King" (Deep Purple), "Killed By Death" (Motorhead) and "Seek & Destroy" (Metallica).

The story behind this concept album is "about revenge and the greed of power and tells the story about Wallace Green, and the other anarchists who travel to Sad Hill to assassinate the King, As well as his escape which also leads to his own death. After he & Death he meets the devil witch offers Wallace a chance to live and rule again. Wallace turns into the Soulmaker, he controls the dead souls with an unfulfilled purpose in their lives. Now the free people of the world must stand against Wallace to end this massacre."

Lead guitarist and vocalist Christer Slettebo has a vocal style not to dissimilar at all to Metallica's James Hetfield. I will say that Evil Never Dies like so many others is also superior to than anything which Metallica has put out in some time. "God Of Anarchy" is up first as Critical Solution hits the spot with effective tempo changes and those catchy riffs feeding their potent music and there are plenty more that follow. Wallace Green the main character of this tale is also the title of a lively metal tune, "The Exectuion" is the end of Wallace or is it? Not likely, as Critical Solution have more great metal in store combining their classic thrash style as he is brought back after making a deal with the devil witch.

Track Listing:
1. God of Anarchy
2. Sad Hill
3. Crime Of Passion
4. Wallace Green
5. This Burning Hate
6. The Execution (Intro)
7. Dead Man Walkin'
8. Evil Never Dies
9. Soulmaker
10. Hell's Warrior
11. War Machine
12. Speed King (Deep Purple Cover)
13. Killed By Death (Motorhead Cover)
14. Seek & Destroy (Metallica Cover)

Added: November 8th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 1877
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by