Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Samsara Blues Experiment: Waiting For the Flood

Waiting For the Flood is the third release from German psychedelic hard rockers Samsara Blues Experiment, and features just four songs but clocks in at almost 50-minutes. Stoner rock fans will simply fall in love with the fuzz toned riffs, wah-wah solos, reverb drenched vocals, and crushing rhythms found throughout this CD. Comprised of Christian Peters (Guitars, Vocals), Hans Eiselt (Guitars), Richard Behrens (Bass), and Thomas Vedder ( Drums), the band make no bones about their love for all things Jimi Hendrix, Hawkwind, Pentagram, Orange Goblin, Cactus, and Black Sabbath here, and you know what, that's perfectly ok with me. "Shringara" just drips with scorching, fuzz-laden guitar riffs & solos, while the title track throws in some creepy, space rock guitar & keyboard effects which adds an ominous, atmospheric element. About mid-way through, the wah-wah lead guitar kicks in alongside some booming bass, and the stoner vibe is complete. Cactus meets Sabbath on the bruising "Don't Belong", a real heavy yet bluesy barnstormer of a song, complete with some serious fuzz on the guitar & bass. I mean serious folks...this is some massive stuff. Closer "Brahmin's Lament" picks up the pace a tad with some galloping rhythms, but the riffs are still crushing and the vocals remind of some of the old '70s recordings from Pentagram. Toss in some cool Middle Eastern passages and you have one of the most unique songs on the album.

Not an album you are going to play at your next BBQ or dinner party, Waiting For the Flood certainly will be much more useful in setting a mood, at a time when an 'uplifting' musical experience is not necessarily needed. This is moody, psychedelic, proggy, and most importantly HEAVY stuff, so indulge in whatever suits your fancy, take this one in and let it sweep you away.

Track Listing
1. "Shringara" (13:32)
2. "Waiting for the Flood" (10:38)
3. "Don't Belong" (11:58)
4. "Brahmin's Lament" (12:25)

Added: November 2nd 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3528
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by