Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Insurrection: Prototype

The metal scene in Quebec grows stronger and stronger all the time. It seems like every time I turn my attention to new releases, there's at least one more album out of Quebec that needs attention. So far, I haven't been disappointed with the music I hear. That's good news for me since I'm headed out there this February on a business trip and hope to catch some of the local shows that week.

With this release, Insurrection's third, the band certainly demonstrates that they are a strong and aggressive death metal band. Their music has many influences, ranging from death metal to thrash metal; to my ears, the band is really channeling bands like Misery Index on this one.

From start to finish, the music on this album is both eclectic and conventional. I don't mean that as a criticism. I liked the blend of styles and sounds on display here. The other thing I liked about this album is that the band sings some of the tracks in English and some in French, just the kind of blend one would expect from a place like Quebec, a Canadian Province that has long wrestled with broad notions of colonial identity versus French nationalism. This band isn't airing all those grievances on this album, of course, but it is fun to hear a handful of songs performed in French.

For my money, one of the best tracks on this album was "Sueuers Froids," mostly because it's opening guitar riff (and backing bass) was strong and powerful. For those same reasons, I recommend "Trois Minutes de Carnage," another killer guitar assault. I didn't like the introductory track very much, mostly because it seemed unnecessary, a clearing of the throat before the actual performance. The second track, though, captures very well what this band is all aboutóbrutal riffs and alternated powerful vocals. Stick around for the end of this album, though. "Bruits Sans Fin," the final track, concludes with a series of highly melodic chimes that gave the whole thing an effective and slightly melancholy spin.

Track Listing:
1. Overprocessed (Intro)
2. Abattoir
3. The Chronophobes
4. Checkmate
5. Sueurs Froides
6. Hellfire
7. Trois Minutes de Carnage
8. Archetype
9. Prototype
10. They Rise
11. Bruits Sans Fin

Added: November 2nd 2013
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1964
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by