Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sweet: The Answer

The year was 1992, and the surge of hard rock & metal that swept the world in the latter part of the '80s was quickly giving way to the grunge movement from Seattle, all but getting swept under the rug in its wake. Well, someone forgot to tell that to legendary British rockers Sweet, who, after many years of live appearances in the '80s with varying line-ups, returned with this heavy hitting studio recording that was actually quite solid, though a few years too late to cash in on the heavy rock sweepstakes. Guitarist Andy Scott had been raising the Sweet banner throughout the decade after all the other original members jumped ship, and it wasn't until 1992 that The Answer was unleashed.

Joining Scott here are vocalist Mal McNulty, bassist Jeff Brown, and former Michael Schenker Group members Steve Mann on keyboards & guitar, and drummer Bobo Schopf. The Answer is a pretty hard rocking affair, complete with Sweet's trademark catchy vocal harmonies and crisp guitar work, and had it been released say back in 1988, chances are the band might have had a minor hit with this. McNulty at times sounds like a less histrionic, more accessible Rob Halford mixed with Graham Bonnet, and he's leading the charge on such hook laden heavy hitters as "Red Tape", "Stand Up", "Do As I Say", "Dangerous Game", and the super crunchy "Marshall Stack". Fans of the bands tongue in cheek, charming power pop will love "Nouveau Rock Star", and the power ballads "I Don't Want to Say Goodnight" & "Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again" will instantly appeal to fans of Night Ranger, Survivor, or Loverboy. Through it all, Scott delivers plenty of wicked riffs and tasty lead solos, again proving what an underrated player he's always been. Listen to his beefy riffs on the Motley Crue parody piece "Crudely Mott"...heavy stuff indeed.

Angel Air has done a great remaster job on The Answer, so it really sounds better than ever, and there are three bonus tracks included for good measure. Toss in a cool booklet filled with photos & info, and you have a very enjoyable reissue of a long forgotten album from a legendary band.

Track Listing
1) Do As I Say
2) X-Ray Specs
3) Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again
4) Stand Up
5) Nouveau Rock Star
6) Natural
7) Mind
8) Marshall Stack
9) Red Tape
10) When Friends Fall Out
11) It It True
12) Dangerous Game
13) I Don't Want to Say Goodnight
14) Crudely Mott
15) Marshall Stack (alt. ending)
16) Do As I Say (single mix)
17) Stand Up (hard rock version)

Added: October 30th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Angel Air Records
Hits: 1529
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by