Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lane, Lana: Return to Japan

As a companion to the Storybook DVD, Lana Lane and Erik Norlander have released this 2 CD retrospective of their last four Japanese tours from 1998-2002. Containing some different tracks than the DVD, Return to Japan features full band performances (Vinny Appice, Don Schiff, Neil Citron, Peer Verschuren, Mark McCrite, Tommy Amato) from concerts at Club Citta (2002) and Club Quattro (1999) on Disc One, and Disc Two contains acoustic duo performances of Lana & Erik as well as a few cover songs with the band. It's all powerfull, symphonic hard rock with touches of progressive rock and progressive metal, chock full of hooks and tight band interplay.

Most of Lana's most popular and memorable songs are played on Disc One, which is very similar to the track listing of the DVD, but the real surprises are on Disc Two, which features duo performances on Lana Lane staples like "Stardust", "Symphony of Angels", and "Take a Breath." Lana's vocals are just gorgeous here, accompanied by the virtuoso keyboards of her husband Erik. Wonderful covers of Marillion's "Seasons End", King Crimson's "In the Court of the Crimson King", Aerosmith's "Dream On", and Rainbow's "Long Live Rock & Roll" round out this enjoyable live package.

In place of a greatest hits package, this would probably be the best place to start for those new to Lana Lane's music For fans it's a must have, as the 2 CD set is filled with powerful performances, as well as insightful words from Mr. Norlander in the booklet.

Track Listing
Disc One
Introductory Medley
1. Dark Water Part III [1:59]
2. Fanfare for the Dragon Isle [0:43]
3. Garden of the Moon [1:18]
4. In the Hall of the Ocean Queen [0:40]
5. Escher's Staircase [6:09]
6. The Beast Within You [5:41]
7. Rainbow's End [7:06]
8. Queen of the Ocean [7:54]
9. Project Shangri La [5:37]
10. Evolution Revolution [8:29]
11. Frankenstein Unbound [6:16]
12. Athena's Shadow [4:55]
13. Night Falls [7:42]
14. Astrology Prelude [3:31]
15. Redemption Part II [1:12]
16. Secrets of Astrology [5:43]

Disc Two
1. Take a Breath [4:25]
2. Stardust [4:56]
3. Symphony of Angels [5:20]
4. Dream On [4:02]
5. Alexandria [5:15]
6. Autumn Leaves [4:03]
7. Let Heaven In [6:51]
8. Dreamcurrents [0:29]
9. Avalon [4:22]
10. Seasons End [4:50]
11. In the Court of the Crimson King [9:09]
12. Long Live Rock 'n' Roll [4:53]

Added: July 4th 2004
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Lana Lane Website
Hits: 2758
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by