Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hawkwind: Space Bandits (remastered)

Space rock legends Hawkwind ushered in the 1990's with Space Bandits, and as much of their career had been peppered with line-up changes, so to did this time period. Joining mainstays Dave Brock (guitar, keyboards, vocals), Alan Davey (bass, vocals), and Harvey Bainbridge (keyboards) were Richard Chadwick (drums), Bridget Wishart (vocals), and a returning Simon House (violin), the latter who filled in a gap left by the departing of lead guitarist Huw Lloyd-Langton. Space Bandits is a fairly brief album by normal Hawkwind standards at roughly 40-minutes long, and doesn't always come up in conversations when people talk about the strongest releases in the Hawkwind discography, but it is a solid album of metallic space rock nonetheless.

Much of the album is pretty slick and polished, which is not surprising seeing as the era it was recorded in. "Images" comes across as an almost melodic metal affair, with crunchy guitar riffs from Brock and Bainbridge's whooshing synths, all the while newcomer Wishart's enchanting vocals soar over the top. This one rock and rocks hard, a great way to start the album out. Native American Indian lyrical themes permeate the haunting, tribal "Black Elk Speaks", and "Wings" is an atmospheric vocal driven number that also has some spacey synths and melodic bass lines. The pace picks up on the blistering rocker "Out of the Shadows", which features Brock on lead vocals & searing guitar, and the spooky instrumental "Realms" comes across as the perfect soundtrack to a horrific science fiction movie. It segues right into the ominous "Ship of Dreams", a chilling number with Brock's spoken word vocals, Chadwick's tribal drum beats, buzzing synths, and heavy metal guitar riffs. The album closes with "T.V. Suicide", a song about the dangers of relying too much on what we see & hear on our television sets, and it's trademark Hawkwind featuring some undulating synth textures and narrative from Bainbridge.

Atomhenge's remaster sounds quite good, and there are even a few bonus tracks thrown in, including an early take of "Snake Dance", which would later show up on Electric Tepee, a live version of "Out of the Shadows", and "Images" in single format. Toss in a great booklet with lyrics, photos, and info, and you have another great reissue from the Cherry Red family.

Track Listing
1) Images
2) Black Elk Speaks
3) Wings
4) Out of the Shadows
5) Realms
6) Ship of Dreams
7) TV Suicide
8) Out of the Shadows (live studio version)
9) Snake Dance (live studion version)
10) Images (single version)

Added: October 25th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2107
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by