Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Motörhead: Aftershock

Three things are a certainty in life; Death, Taxes and a new Motörhead album & tour every eighteen months or so. Much speculation has circulated in the press as of late as to whether this will indeed be their swansong. Lemmy's recent health issues are well documented but it does seem the old bugger is finally listening to his body, having given up smoking and his daily bottle of JD & coke, preferring to quaff wine instead. That is the extent to his lifestyle changes though; the live fast constant work, road warrior ethic is still embedded into the almost 70 year olds mind.

Aftershock is Motörhead's 21st studio album, an achievement many bands will sadly not amount to. As expected the formula hasn't changed much in all those releases which is why Motörhead fans are the most loyal, dedicated group of people you'd ever meet. However Aftershock does hold a few surprises within its fourteen track onslaught, pleasant surprises at that. Produced by Cameron Webb, responsible for the knob twiddling on the previous four albums, it seems Lemmy is obviously happy with the results he produces, capturing his vision for the albums feel & sound perfectly. "Heartbreaker" and "Coup De Grace" is Motörhead through & through, fast paced, dirty rock 'n roll but it's the bluesy meanderings of "Lost Woman Blues" & "Dust and Glass" that really show them in a more thought provoking, reflecting light. The slightly borrowed Alice in Chains "Man in the Box" riff to "Silence When You Speak To Me" is slightly tongue- in –cheek though but satisfying all the same. As you'd expect when your band is a three piece there is nowhere to hide, each member is meticulous in the execution of their chosen instrument. Phil Campbell, the self-proclaimed 'Welsh Wanker ' has to be one of Rock & Metals truly underrated guitar players, his playing contains so much feel and no-one like him can kick out a heart stopping solo. The earth shattering rhythm of Lemmy's bowel moving, dirty bass rumbles throughout the album with a sloppy precision complemented by Mikkey Dee's thunderous drumming. Culminating together are the same ingredients to a different dish, a hearty rib sticking dish of Rock 'n Roll Motörhead style.

Aftershock is not changing the way Motörhead do things, after all who would want to tell Lemmy to write lighters in the air erection section ballads? It is what it is, they are Motörhead and they play Rock 'N Fuckin' Roll,

Track listing:-
1. "Heartbreaker" 3:05
2. "Coup De Grace" 3:45
3. "Lost Woman Blues" 4:09
4. "End Of Time" 3:17
5. "Do You Believe" 2:59
6. "Death Machine" 2:37
7. "Dust And Glass" 2:51
8. "Going To Mexico" 2:51
9. "Silence When You Speak To Me" 4:30
10. "Crying Shame" 4:28
11. "Queen Of The Damned" 2:41
12. "Knife" 2:57
13. "Keep Your Powder Dry" 3:54
14. "Paralyzed" 2:50

Added: October 31st 2013
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2389
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Motörhead: Aftershock
Posted by Dean Pedley, SoT Staff Writer on 2013-10-31 12:39:55
My Score:

With the news just breaking of the cancellation of their upcoming European tour it is impossible to listen to this new album without considering Lemmy's health issues and take a moment to reflect back on what has been an incredible run. If Aftershock does turn out to be their swansong then Lemmy, Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee have gone out on a real high; whatever the commercial success of the late 70's and early 80's the current configuration – intact since 1995 when Wurzel left and they trimmed back down to a trio - must surely be considered as the definitive Motorhead line-up. It is no co-incidence that producer Cameron Webb has been working with the band for the past decade and he has once again helped inspire some remarkable performances, both in the songwriting department and the execution of fourteen brand new Motorheadbanging classics.

Fast paced speed metal rockers are at the core of every single Motorhead album and Aftershock serves up a trio of real gems in 'Coup de Grace', 'Death Machine' and 'Going to Mexico' but where they really excel is when the pace drops and they treat us to a pair of laid back country flavoured blues tunes in 'Lost Woman Blues' and 'Dust and Glass'. These are songs that the band would simply never have attempted back when they were scaling the heights of both the singles and albums charts around Europe and all credit to them for doing so now. Whatever he has been going through in recent times Lemmy is in strong voice and even if they have to significantly scale back their live work it is to be hoped the band can continue to record new material for some time to come.

Aftershock is simply yet another album from Motorhead that delivers on all fronts, once again cementing their reputation as the best hard rocking and rolling trio of them all.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by