Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Susperia: Unlimited

Unlimited is a fitting title for Susperia's third CD release, as this band has absolutely unlimited potential, and seems poised to rise to the upper ranks of todays young metal bands. Hailing from Norway, this five piece ensemble play hard and furious metal that touches on both technical death metal and progressive metal, with some thrash thrown in for good measure, but remains highly melodic. Think early Evergrey meets classic Testament and you get a good idea of what you are in store for here on Unlimited.

Songs like "Chemistry" and "Situational Awareness" contain intricate and weaving guitar lines that give the music a very symphonic quality, yet the sledgehammer rhythms keep everything extremely heavy. Lead vocalist Athera has a voice that is very similar to Evergrey's Tom Englund and Testament's Chuck Billy, capably tacking the aggressive passages as well as the softer, more melodic moments. "Devil May Care" is a perfect example of his style, as he throws all sorts of styles, from gruff to clean to high pitched wails, on a song that descibes a man's slow decent into personal hell.

A good example of the bands technical style can be heard on the raging "Off the Grid", complete with rapid fire drum work from Tjodalv (formerly of Dimmu Borgir) and the crushing guitar playing of Cyrus and Elvorn, who lay down complex riffs and winding lead fills throughout the songs entirety. "Home Sweet Hell" has a decidely power-metal/anthem feel to it, thanks to the catchy dual guitar riff and great chorus sung by Athera. Fans of brutal thrash will love the sounds on cuts like "Beast By Design" and "Untouched", two "no holds barred" crushers that end the CD in relelentless fashion.

There's no doubt that the metal world will be standing up and taking notice with the release of Unlimited. Susperia's music is brutal enough to please the extreme crowd, technical enough to get a nod from the prog-metal masses, and melodic enough to peak the interest of more mainstream listeners. The future looks very bright indeed for Susperia!

Track Listing
1) Chemistry (4:34)
2) The Coming Past (3:42)
3) Situational Awareness (4:41)
4) Devil May Care (5:50)
5) Off the Grid (4:24)
6) Years of Infinity (4:46)
7) Home Sweet Hell (4:44)
8) Mind Apart (4:17)
9) Beast By Design (4:03)
10) Untouched (4:34)
Total Running Time (45:35)

Added: July 3rd 2004
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Offical Susperia Website
Hits: 3133
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by