Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Trysette: La Café Ancien

Trysette Loosemore, is a singer/songwriter, keyboardist who grew up on the northern rivers of NSW, Australia, listening to some of the 1960/70s best singer/songwriters. Their influences on her music can be heard throughout Trysette's four album discography. Trysette went to the U.K. and the south of France to record La Café Ancien. In fact, the cover photo is a picture of Trysette sitting in the front door of Lesley Gibson's place in France. The feel and rhythm of the music benefit from the environment in these locations.

Trysette has a voice which reminds me of the singer Feist. Soft and silky. Sexy and full of confidence. She opens the album with "'Cause You're Mine", bringing a strong vocal and an air of confidence while singing "I'm uninspired, come here and turn me on". That is a good introduction to her control over the musical soundscape she creates. Later though she adds, "I need a good day. Give me a highway that takes me back to you", set to solid electric guitar, bass, and drums from Chris Corney. A great album opener full of confidence.

"The Right Thing" has a funkier beat which I think is a reflection of the sunny days spent in the south of France. The upbeat sound adds to the lyrical expression Trysette is conveying in the song's refrain, "And I've lost control of my heart". This giddy happiness is further enhanced by the keyboard work and bouncing guitar notes.

"Everything's Ok" is another album highlight full of Trysette's soft vocals singing, "Well the birds they need to sing. And a new day will begin. Wonder what wonder what it will bring. And the music in my head. Fills the hollow in my bed". A promise unfulfilled and Trysette presents the song with deep emotion.

"Silky Fingers" is yet another album highlight. A relaxing promise of love that will satisfy. Trysette again delivers the confidence and assurance to carry the message delivered by the track. Kate Buckhaven adds soft backing vocals.

The rest of the album is more of the same confident vocals, delivered with solid bass, keyboards, and lead and lap steel guitar, banjo and drums from Chris Corney. This is a great slice of pop music that gives you a satisfying ten tracks of cool jazzy, relaxed pop sound.

Track Listing:

1. Good day
2. Already
3. Everything's Ok
4. Silky Fingers
5. Sweep Me Off My Feet
6. Inside My Dreams
7. That Face
8. Fade Away
9. Too Much
10. So Fine

Added: October 12th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2496
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by