Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Reece; David: Compromise

Since making his reappearance in the world of Melodic Rock with the 2008 Gypsy Rose album, one time Accept and Sircle Of Silence frontman David Reece has made up for his more than decade long absence from the scene. Two Bangalore Choir albums, a Tango Down release, a CD as Reece Kronlund and a solo record, Universal Language, all confirming him as a singer of great voice, huge presence and one with a keen eye for a killer tune. Keeping that ball and impressive workload rolling comes Compromise, the second solo Reece album and again if you are looking for someone to sing their heart out in stunning style, then David's your man.

The album houses a nice range of styles, allowing Reece to really stretch out vocally, while a stellar backing band featuring Ronnie Parkes, Jack Frost (Savatage), Paul Morris (Rainbow, Doro) and guest slots from Christian Tolle and Andy Susemihl, ensure the tracks are performed superbly. Add to that Joey Vera (Armored Saint) and Martin Kronlund providing "the sound" for Compromise and we should be in for another unquestionable success from start to finish. And so it proves, almost, with a punchy selection of tracks such as "Evil Never Dies", which has a sizzling and surprisingly heavy guitar presence, "Treasure Hunter", where the beat and riff swagger with intent, and the spiky "Disaster" which reminds of a weightier solo David Lee Roth (if the Van Halen frontman could sing of course...), marking this album out as a must have for Melodic Heavy Rock aficionados. Especially if a slightly harder hitting approach from Reece sounds enticing and it should!

However unlike recent Reece releases, there's a bit of a, I'd suggest almost intentional, lull in proceedings, a straight, if rocked up take on Creedence Clearwater Revival's "Fortunate Son" being good, if unessential, while "Along For The Ride" finds all sorts of unneeded echo sapping the life from an otherwise excellent vocal. Unfortunately, this pair sandwich the heartfelt and expertly delivered "Someone Beautiful", leaving a song that genuinely tugs at the heartstrings floundering ever so slightly and losing some of the impact it undoubtedly has. In truth, it is more of a sequencing issue than a case of three poor tracks strung together (although I could do without the effects on the vocals on "Along..."), and more of a distraction than an insurmountable issue. However when the smack of energy of the keyboard/guitar/vocal trade off of "Coast To Coast" hurtles by and the foot stomp of "End Of It All" stings with energetic precision, then it is a slight misjudgement easily overlooked.

Not quite the classic that Universal Language was, or indeed either recent Bangalore Choir releases were, Compromise is still one of the better Melodic Hard Rock albums of recent months and let's be honest, forty minutes or so in the company of Mr Reece's voice never feels like any sort of compromise.

Track Listing
1. Disaster
2. End Of It All
3. Fortunate Son
4. Someone Beautiful
5. Along For The Ride
6. Coast To Coast
7. All Roads Lead To War
8. Where My Heart Belongs
9. Everything To Everyone
10. Evil Never Dies
11. Treasure Hunter

Added: October 12th 2013
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Metal Heaven Records
Hits: 2018
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by