Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Waydown Wailers: State Of The Union

State Of The Union is the debut album from southern swamp rock outfit Waydown Wailers. The band is based out of Canton, New York but you would never know it as this is good old fashioned southern flavoured rock.

The band members are David Parker (rhythm & lead guitar, mandolin, vocals), Christian Parker (rhythm & B-bender, lead guitar), Connor Pelkey (bass, backing vocals) and Michael Scriminger (drums).

The tone of the disc is set with the album opening southern rock of "No Mercy" with its guitar driven sound, a smattering of honky tonk piano and soulful vocals. The title track starts with more boogie riffage before incorporating some reggae rhythms as well. The country flavoured "Women Tonight" is a nice mid-tempo ballad. The mandolin adds a nice touch in the retro sounding "The Man" while the upbeat "Online Love" hints at Money And Cigarettes- era Clapton. The bluesy "Money Grabbers" is probably my favourite filled with searing guitar and gritty vocals.

State Of The Union is a pretty solid debut. If you like your rock flavoured with southern swamp water the Waydown Wailers will be worth your time.

Track Listing:
1. No Mercy (5:29)
2. State Of The Union (5:42)
3. Women Tonight (5:05)
4. The Man (4:50)
5. One By One (5:07)
6. Online Love (4:35)
7. Money Grabbers (4:22)
8. My Girl (4:11)

Added: September 30th 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1856
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by