Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Sixxis: The Sixxis

The Sixxix are an Atlanta based rock band that have been around since 2006 although this is the first time I have made their acquaintance. Their self-titled debut was released in January of this year. Since their formation the band have gone through several line-up changes as most young bands are prone to do. Hopefully the release of this album will find them on more solid ground. The players are Vladdy Iakhakov (lead vocals, violin, piano, rhythm guitar), Mark Golden (bass, synths) and Josh Baker (drums, percussion, pads, vocals).

On the album the band offer a little bit of everything; studio tracks, live tracks and a bonus DVD containing performances of the three live tunes.

"Believe" is the lead off track and single and showcases some of the band's strengths; soaring lead vocals, powerful guitar riffs and pounding drums. This is full steam ahead modern rock that hooks the listener with a solid melody and fine musicianship. The same can be said for the next three tracks; "Snake In The Grass", "I Wanted More" and "She Only". The riffs are heavy and the vocals quite dramatic in a Muse kind of way. The band does a nice job weaving lush segments of violin and quieter instrumentation into their heavier sound. Some well-placed synths also add colour to their musical palette. The fifth track is another version of "Believe", this time sung in Russian. It is a good song but there was no need to include it twice. The only major misstep on the album. The last three tracks are all live showing the band can bring it in a concert setting. The last track, "Farewell To Everything", is particularly catchy.

The bonus DVD is a nice little extra that puts a face to the music. They really are a talented young band.

While this album did not blow me away, I found it to be very enjoyable. I don't consider this prog but who cares when the songs are solid and the music is good. That's all that really matters in the end.

Track Listing:
Disc 1 (CD)
1. Believe
2. Snake In The Grass
3. I Wanted More
4. She Only
5. Believe (Russian)
6. Nowhere Close Live
7. Home Again Live
8. Farewell To Everything Live Disc 2 (DVD)
1. Nowhere Close
2. Home Again
3. Farewell To Everything

Added: September 29th 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1898
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by