Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nymf: From the Dark

Swedish doom/stoner rock band Nymf formed back in 2007, and From the Dark is the bands second release on Transubstans Records. Comprised of Niklas Sjöberg (Vocals), Kristofer Stjernquist (Guitar), Martin Fairbanks (Guitar), Robin Ingemansson (Bass), and Tommy Lindskog (Drums), Nymf take their cue from early Black Sabbath, Candlemass, Pentagram, Down, Orange Goblin, and Spiritual Beggars, creating a thick wall of crushing guitar riffs and heavy grooves that will likely please any fan of this style.

Most of the tracks here are instantly memorable headbangers featuring some massive riffs and Sjöberg's effective 'Ozzy-meets-Bobby Liebling-meets Dio' styled vocals. "Fear of the Doom", "Possessed" and "Black Core" snarl and rumble along with plenty of power, the arrangements never dipping too far into ponderous dirge level but keeping a nice mid-to upper level pace, which suits things just fine. Some really fine heavy riffs throughout, like on the swamp infused "Evolution Blues" or the raging "Postmortem", while "Drive" is a more straightforward stoner rock piece that is a must hear for fans of Clutch, Monster Magnet, or Crowbar. However, if it's classic doom you crave, check out the ominous, brontosaurus riffs and double kick drums of the rampaging "In The Name Of Vlad" for some truly great headbanging fun. "Your Soul Is Mine" also pushes all the right buttons (man, that RIFF!), and "Like A Giant Orange Sun" tosses a wealth of sick wah-wah laced guitar licks at the listener.

If From the Dark suffers from anything, it's probably from a few too many songs; at 13 it's a tad on the long side, but most of this album is pretty kicks ass and for fans of the genre it's well worth seeking out.

Track Listing
01 Heleionomai (Prelude)
02 Fear Of The Doom
03 Possessed
04 Black Core
05 Evolution Blues
06 Thin Ice
07 Postmortem
08 Drive
09 Lucifer Takes The Crown
10 In The Name Of Vlad
11 Your Soul Is Mine
12 The Greatest Burden
13 Like A Giant Orange Sun

Added: September 24th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1770
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by