Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

DDrive: Critical Mass

Critical Mass is the fourth album from Rochester, NY's DDrive. The band is made up of singer-songwriter Phil Naro; Don Mancuso plays guitar; JT Taylor plays bass; and Bobby Bond is the band's drummer.

Critical Mass is an assembly of 16 hard rocking tracks, plus two bonus songs that would have fit well within some of Aerosmith or some of the other rock/metal bands of their heyday's discography. That hard driving, rock guitar, chunky bass and power drums sound is an excellent example of the hard rock and heavy metal that dominated the middle and late 1980's.

"Dig Down" with its fast motion grinding guitar sound, "Diamond Star Halo", with its stellar drum solo opening, the deep bass and slow vocal delivery on "You're Never Alone", my album favorite and great ballad "Pray for Tomorrow", the "doin' it my own way" track, "Always Done", and the excellent piano opening on "Can't Dig Your Way Out", are some of my favorites on the album. "Welcome to My World", "Build My Castle", "Missing", and "Never Had a Chance" are also good tracks.

There are plenty of great guitar solos, excellent supporting keys, deep bass, and solid drums throughout the album. This is a great slice of new music that sticks with a traditional heavy metal sound to provide the kind of arena and nightclub rock that has thrilled rock fans since the 1980s.

Track Listing:

01) Dig Down
02) Down Rotten Dirty
03) Diamond Star Halo
04) Next Train
05) You're Never Alone
06) Pray For Tomorrow
07) Always Done
08) Can't Dig Your Way Out
09) Welcome To My World
10) Build My Castle
11) A Little Bitta Sunshine
12) Down Deep
13) Missing
14) Chains On You
15) Lock Lips
16) Never Had A Chance

Bonus Tracks:

17) I'm A Little Outside (New Version) Acoustic
18) Ten Things I Hate The Most (New Original) Acoustic

Added: September 20th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1727
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by