Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dystopia: Haat

From The Netherlands comes Dystopia, a four-piece blackened death metal band with a demo, full-length, and now this brand new EP Haat under their belt. Comprised of drummer Cees de Wit, guitarists Dennis Onsia & Rick Jongman, and bassist Bob van Deutekom, Dystopia pay homage to the classic Norwegian black metal acts but also inject a healthy dose of crushing death metal as well as some atmospheric folk elements. Both tracks here feature plenty of brutal blast beats, manic riffs, agonizing screams, rasps, and growls, but it's all well done and composed quite effectively, as the band often change tempos and drop in some jazz/folk/prog elements which add some brief moments of atmosphere. The guitar work on "Bound to Annihilate" is exceptional, so look for not only pulverizing riffs but also tasty lead work and gorgeous acoustic picking. Though it's hard to judge a band by a two-song EP (I have not heard their previous demo or full-length), there's obviously a ton of promise shown here and I'll be looking forward to their proposed 2014 full-length release.

Track Listing
1) Peace Through Power
2) Bound to Annihilate

Added: September 19th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1770
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by