Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Evile: Skull

Someone call up Slayer and Metallica and tell them that Evile are still attempting to push them into retirement and mimic their sound so much that when the time comes for both thrash legends to call it quits, this UK act will step right in and not miss a beat. Seriously, their latest CD Skull is about as close as you can get to cloning the classic '80s thrash formula, and these guys do it by Matt Drake perfectly fusing the vocals of James Hetfield & Tom Araya and creating songs that are clearly well done variations of old Metallica and Slayer classics. Granted, this whole 'Second Wave of Thrash' that we've seen over the last five years or so hasn't really brought any truly original young bands on the scene (during a time when many of the old guard are still pumping out excellent new music), but these guys seem so intent on rehashing a sound and style that it's almost comical. That being said, Skull clearly is not without its merits, and if you can just get past the Metallica & Slayer worship for a bit, there's some cranking material here. "Underworld", "The Naked Sun", and "Head of the Demon" feature some neck-snapping guitar riffs and snarling vocals, while "Tomb" has that "Fade to Black" styled arrangement to it with the mellow, acoustic based opening eventually morphing into crushing riffing and tasty guitar solos. Both "Words of the Dead" and "A Sinister Call" are perfect examples of what is good, and ultimately also not so good, about this album. Each one is a solid, crunchy thrash song with some epic elements, but you get the feeling that either one could have been a leftover from the And Justice For All or South of Heaven sessions, decent tracks but not good enough to make the final album cut.

So, if you don't mind unoriginal thrash that seems dead set on aping the classic sounds of both Metallica & Slayer, then by all means drink deep from this one. If however you want something with a bit more substance then stay clear of Skull. Take your pick.

Track Listing
1. Underworld
2. Skull
3. The Naked Sun
4. Head of the Demon
5. Tomb
6. Words of the Dead
7. Outsider
8. What You Become
9. New Truths, Old Lies
10. A Sinister Call

Added: September 8th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1867
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by