Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Annihilator: Feast

As a long time fan I am pleased to write that Feast is Annihilator's strongest album in years, something I couldn't say about their last two that didn't deliver the goods not like Feast does. Guitarist Jeff Waters who founded the metal group in 1984 hasn't mellowed his approach over time, since the early days with their classic release Alice In Hell Annihilator have recorded so much potent metal and Feast is no exception. Annihilator showed that they were more than a thrash metal group also incorporating other styles such as speed and melodic heavy metal with songs that were quite technical at times.

The deluxe edition features a 3D version of that zombified cover art featuring one of the walking dead feasting on its victims heart. Also included is a bonus disc titled Re Kill with re-recorded versions of many Annihilator classics not a bad extra for a small extra price, especially for newer fans who don't have their back catalogue.

Annihilator still retains their own sound whether it's that distinctive guitar style of Jeff Waters or David Padden's vocal delivery, and you can't forget those extra sometimes quirky touches that come with an Annihilator album. Feast shows the band hasn't really altered their style greatly though those additions or is that Annihifunk on track four "No Surrender" are something new. But reality is that Annihilator remains the band that so many of us grew up listening to, and why would you change your ways when you do it so well.

With more metal hooks on Feast the Canadian thrashers take flight with an Annihilator classic styled speedster "Deadlock". So push up that volume as Waters' is on fire unleashing his blistering speed metal riffs, and showing that he is still a serious talent. Annihilator has the media in its sights with the multi tempo metal of "Smear Campaign", "Fight The World" is one of my pick of the songs on Feast from the extended instrumental beginnings to that pummelling brisk chorus this is traditional Annihilator through and through. Annihilator drop the metal for "Perfect Angel Eyes" the lightest inclusion on Feast and while "One Falls, Two Rise" starts out calm that tranquil state doesn't last long when Annihilator switches to metal mode.

Feast is Annihilator staying in familiar territory and I wouldn't want it any other way.

Track Listing
1. Deadlock
2. No Way Out
3. Smear Campaign
4. No Surrender
5. Wrapped
6. Perfect Angel Eyes
7. Demon Code
8. Fight The World
9. One Falls, Two Rise

Bonus disc: Re-Kill
1. Fun Palace
2. Alison Hell
3. King Of The Kill
4. Never, Neverland
5. Set The World On Fire
6. Welcome To Your Death W.T.Y.D.
7. Nozone
8. Bloodbath
9. 21
10. Stonewall
11. Ultra Motion
12. Time Bomb
13. Refresh The Demon
14. Word Salad
15. Brain Dance

Added: October 13th 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2080
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Annihilator: Feast
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2013-10-13 08:17:20
My Score:

Feast is another solid effort from Canadian thrash legends Annihilator, but as with their past few efforts, the band once again really seems to be reaching here to break into the mainstream and forgetting their roots a bit. With so many other veteran thrash acts delivering killer releases these days, Feast comes across as decent, if a bit on the safe side. Vocalist David James Padden has a good voice, though he seems more suited to 'modern metal' at times than he does to a band like Annihilator. "Wrapped", despite some sizzling Jeff Waters lead guitar work, comes across like bad Metallica with a dash of metalcore, and "Perfect Angel Eyes" sees the vocalist crooning in Creed fashion on what is a somewhat sappy ballad.

That's the semi-bad, but there are also some really good tunes here. "Deadlock" crushes, as does "Demon Code", "No Way Out", and the epic, proggy "One Falls, Two Rises". Padden, when he gets into gruff, bellow mode, fits the Annihilator style quite well. Waters as always just cranks out a non-stop barrage of crunch-o-rama and blistering solos, but as with recent efforts the songwriting needs to be there to support his expert guitar playing. I would say a good half of Feast falls into that category and satisfies as far as top-notch thrash is concerned. There are a few tracks where the band falls into generic metalcore styled arrangements, but even those are pretty decent songs. The second disc on the deluxe edition delivers newly recorded versions of Annihilator classics, and while not essential listening is a nice touch for all the old school fans. Overall this is a good effort, better certainly than their previous few, and shows them getting back on the right track.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by