Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Onslaught: VI

I'm going to go straight in for the kill…The last time an album gave me this feeling of pure Thrash Infused Fury was when I heard Master Of Puppets for the first time! That is how important this album, by veteran thrashers Onslaught is, an album with magnitude and gravitas, an album with 'classic' written all over it. After an atmospheric intro, VI kicks off with the 1000mph 'Chaos Is King', Onslaught stamping their authority from the start. Progressing forward with the relentless force and power of a dominating military attack, 'Fuel For My Fire' sees Sy Keeler going right for the jugular with violent a presence. The albums standout track has to be the magnificent 'Children Of The Sand', as the title suggests an Eastern flavoured affair filled with six minutes of sheer metallic delight.

Let's be honest, Onslaught's last outing, 2011's Sounds Of Violence, was a mighty fine release for a band who've always been on the verge of great things, but VI eclipses that with the darkest shade of black known to man. O.K, so '66 Fuckin' 6' is sure not going to get them any radio airplay soon but it's a hell of a track for the live arena and sure to get people chanting it, fists aloft. A combination of twisted, furious guitar shredding from Nige Rockett and Andy Rosser-Davies accentuates the elements of hate injected into the albums genes. However it's the new man behind the drum kit that gives VI its sonic aggression from the start, Michael Hourihan is a revelation, even inhuman.

Onslaught has produced possibly the Thrash album of 2013, which is no mean feat. An album of calculated, controlled aggression, providing the listener with enough variety and edge which will guarantee you'll be hearing a lot more from these boys in 2014. And deservedly so, this is the album Onslaught have been threatening to make for years….the wait is finally over!

Track Listing:-
01. A New World Order
02. Chaos is King
03. Fuel For My Fire
04. Children of the Sand
05. Slaughterize
06. 66 Fucking' 6
07. Cruci-Fiction
08. Dead Man Walking
09. Enemy of My Enemy

Added: October 14th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2779
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by