Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

LaFosse, Andre: Normalized

Every art form in every age has had its geniuses and innovators and in the age of Brave New Guitar the likes of Reeves Gabrels, David Torn and Adrian Belew have moved the instrument forward by leaps and bounds. And, within the last few years, Andre LaFosse has emerged to join them. Like the other players mentioned, LaFosse's playing transcends the instrument as the so-called turntablist guitarist forges new alliances with possibilities previously untapped or unknown during tracks such as "Sensitive Skin," "The Proposition" (which features a bodacious Stevie Wonderlike groove amid the bleeps and bops that give Normalized its distinct personality) and "Dark Amber." (You also can't resist "Interference" and "Beast With Two Backs")

Normalized may not be your standard prog fare as it mixes funk, hip-hop and elements of electronic music, but it is more than progressive in spirit as LaFosse breaks down barrier after barrier, leaving few sonic stones unturned on this all-live, all guitar outing. It's not a matter of getting used to the music here, though, instead it's more a matter of finding a way to articulate the sensations you're left with after tracking through Normalized.

At the moment LaFosse has only released two CDs, this and Disruption Theory, which covers a slightly different terrain, and in some ways the lack of LaFosse material out there in the world is sad because an artist such as Andre LaFosse deserves to be heard and heard loud. Why? He may now be normalized but he's far from ordinary.

Track Listing:
1. The Proposition (5:11)
2. Solitaire (Version One) (3: 44)
3. One Way Street (3:39)
4. Sensitive Skin (3:10)
5. Private Allies (5:13)
6. Sidewinder (2:59)
7. Dark Amber (3:23)
8. Interference (5: 42)
9. Solitaire (Version Two) (4:51)
10. Intruder (1:46)
11. Off The Grid (3:46)
12. Hammerhead (3:56)
13. Preacherman (4:16)
14. Deject (2:13)
15. Seismic (5:03)
16. Rockhouse (5:34)
17. Normalized (2:58)
18. Beast With Two Backs (5:51)
Total Time: 73:10

Added: June 27th 2004
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 2576
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by