Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mxrcxl: A Laughing Matter

Having already released a two track one man band single, Mxrcxl (according to Marcel adding a couple of "xx" to his name makes it more rock and roll...), and receiving tasty feedback, a full band was put together. Not that any of them are named on A Laughing Matter, a release that blasts through four tracks of angry, smelly, garage punk 'n' roll in decent fashion. You can hear MC5 in there somewhere ("I Will, You Won't" for example), you can also pick out some Husker Du (that'll be "Big Mistake"), a touch more punk ("I Forgot To Smile") and listen carefully and the more melodic tones of Buffalo Tom ("Photographs") also come through. A fine mix in anyone's book and with the anger sounding heart wrenched and the energy unforced Mxrcxl the man and band may well be on to something as he/they wring out these authentic US sounds from their home in Rotterdam.

Track Listing
1. I Will, You Won't
2. Big Mistake
3. I Forgot To Smile
4. Photographs

Added: August 23rd 2013
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Mxrcxl Online
Hits: 1279
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by