Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hart Trio, Rob: 3000 Realms of 10 Worlds

For those of you familiar with Rob Hart you know that he is an excellent drummer, a graduate of the Berklee College of Music in Boston and has played professionally for over thirty five years. His new album 3000 Realms of 10 Worlds demonstrates just what a master craftsman he is as his skill behind the kit cannot be overlooked.

As with all quality jazz records one cannot do it alone and Hart has hired a fine list of musicians to help him out including Fareed Haque (acoustic guitar), Stuart Hamm (fretless bass), Greg Sankovich (keyboards, organ) and many others too numerous to mention. Although this is billed as a trio format you will notice that different musicians play on the individual tracks which may be one reason this is such a diverse album.

The album is broken up by the five part "Revenge Of Waldo" which has Hart exploring his experimental side, incorporating some pretty cool keyboards in each segment. For a more traditional approach try the straight up jazz of "Balumaina Astria" with its deceptively complex drumming and the melodic "Crystal Blue Cloud" featuring great interplay between drums and piano. "Saffron" is one of the more interesting tracks featuring incredible acoustic guitar from Haque and dynamic shifts in tempo.

For me the biggest surprise are the two cover songs. The Beatles' "I Will" includes a bombastic intro and flute carrying the melody throughout the song and Zeppelin's "Kashmir", worth the price of the CD alone. This jazzed up version still manages to keep the intensity of the original song intact. For me, Kai Eckhardt's bass and Hart's drum work steals the show although Lorn Leber's electric guitar solo is pretty awesome as well.

Although the album might be a little long at over seventy-seven minutes, no one can deny this is one diverse jazz album and an enjoyable one at that. I have heard some excellent jazz lately and you can add this one to the list. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Revenge of Waldo, Part 1
2. Balumaina Astria
3. Crystal Blue Cloud
4. Revenge of Waldo, Part 2
5. I Will
6. Saffron
7. Revenge of Waldo, Part 3
8. Xaminer
9. Samba De-Luchia
10. Revenge of Waldo, Part 4
11. Evergreen Forest
12. Kashmir
13. Revenge of Waldo, Part 5
14. Tis
15. Hellavicca
16. Revenge of Waldo, Part 6

Added: August 20th 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1426
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by