Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Book Of Reflections: Book Of Reflections

Book Of Reflections is the Lion Music's latest all-star project. Considering that label has a reputation for highly skilled musicians, this CD at least promises something interesting from a musicianship wise. What I have noticed with many of these all-star projects, that most seem to fall in the trap of being just that: a great deal of musicianship over minimal songwriting. What it usually turns out to be is nothing but a wank fest, where listeners are listening for the next great solo or the next impossible note the vocalist can hit. While certainly a marvel to the ears for the first listen, the self-indulgence tends to get wearisome after several listens.

After listening to this release, this thankfully isn't the case. Lars Eric Mattsson who wrote the songs for this album (with some lyrics from Conny Weldon) see to it these excellent musicians have some excellent songs to play over. Superior musicianship and strong songwriting make an excellent combination.

Starting with the musicians on this album, the guitars are handled by Rusty Cooley and Mattsson himself. Their sparring partner on the keyboards is none other than virtuoso Vitalij Kuprij (with Mattsson handling some of the keyboards as well). In fact Mattsson even handles the basses on the album. Combine all of this with the powerhouse drumming of Eddie Sledgehammer, and you have a group of musicians who can surely pack an album full of instrumental fireworks! This they do very effectively all over the album. Not only do they sound like some of the most dazzling runs ever on this label, I would go as far to say this album being Mattsson's greatest work!

No, I haven't forgotten the vocalists here. There are 4 very impressive ones on this outing with Winterlong's Mikeal Holm, the EmOcean's very own Hubi Meisel, Condition Red's Torgny Stjärnfelt, and Andy Engberg (Section A/ex Lion's Share). Meisel steals the show however in the ballad "Let It Go", where is voice is nothing less than fantastic! The song is very sad, where an acoustic guitar strums against cellos in the background.

Aside from this, the album has a very exuberant feel. I see the term "Prog Power" used these days, and this album is an excellent example of what this means. This is symphonic power metal, with heavy progressive overtones. From the fast and furious with songs like "Guardians Of Time", the dizzying keyboard/guitar assault in "Only On Truth", the bluesiness of "Going Through The Motions", and the building tension of "Book Of Illusion". The album covers a lot of bases, but remains very cohesive. There are very strong melodies all over the album, and this combined with sharp songwriting and dazzling musicianship make Book Of Reflections a very worthwhile purchase. Most definitely recommended for lovers of progressive/neoclassical/symphonic/power metal!

Track Listings:

1. Guardian of Time
2. Child of the Rainbow
3. Tearing Down
4. Only One Truth
5. Phoenix
6. Going Through The Motions
7. Slippin' Away
8. You're Not Alone
9. Book of Illusions
10. Let it Go
11. Blood From a Stone (European exclusive bonus track)

Added: November 13th 2004
Reviewer: Dean Pierce
Related Link: Lion Music
Hits: 2757
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Book Of Reflections: Book Of Reflections
Posted by on 2022-11-26 21:09:23
My Score:

Freud's approach to dream interpretation useful content is based on a scientific approach to dreams. He viewed dreams as attempts to gratify desires that are in line with the standards of the conscious mind.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by