Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

AzaZello: MegaDream

AzaZello, hails from the far east of Russia in Tynda. In their part of the world, AzaZello is one of the oldest and most respected bands of its genre. These four, (now three), brave Siberians have managed to reach one of progressive rock's greatest artists Ed Unitsky, who has created some elaborate artwork and helped launch their music globally through friend's networks online.

AzaZello creates progressive rock/metal music with Russian folklore inspirations. The band consists of Alexandr Kulak, on acoustic, electric,7-strings, bass, and slide guitars; keys, flute, voice, and percussion; Vladimir Kulak, on keys; and Yan Zhenchak, on lead and backing vocals.

Vladimir Demakov, passed away in December of 2011, but he played drums and percussion on Mega Dream. In fact, the album is dedicated to the memory of Vladimir Demakov.

Mega Dream also includes guest appearances from Bill Berends, on guitars, from Mastermind; Kerry 'Kompost' Chicoine, of Mars Hollow and Heliopolis on bass; and Misha Ogorodov of Pierre Moerlen's Gong, on keys.

AzaZello has released six albums previous to MegaDream. They include: Black Day, (1998); Upstairs, (2000/01); The Wings, (2003); Seventh Heaven, (2005); Windhead, (2006); and Transformation, (2011) on the MALS rock label from Russia. Sea of Tranquility reviews for Seventh Heaven and Transformation are available for viewing on the site.

MegaDream opens with the some soft keys and excellent violin before the guitar takes the stage on "Zero Hour". The violin and surrounding keys set a perfect table for the masterpiece that follows on "The Losing Game".

This album is one un -ending palate of multi diverse musical genres. It is a very complex mix of Dream Theater like themes mixed with Russian folklore, spacey excursions and plenty of adventurous sounds. Yan Zhenchak's vocals are the perfect mix between Ozzie Osborne and Kingcrow's Diego Marchesi. There are so many twists and turns, and ups and downs on this journey that you will want to hear every entertaining note and chord. Fans of growling vocals will also be satisfied later in the production.

The guitar work is virtuoso. The keyboards create original recipes of sound that you will not hear elsewhere. The flute work is original and brilliant. A masterpiece from start to finish.

The band uses the inspired poetry of rock-journalist, and owner of, Dmitry M. Epstein, who has created English lyrics based on the mystic/sci-fi story from Clock Face by D. Bosov.

This is excellent prog rock with a twist. Try some Russian prog for a change. I recommend it.

Track Listing:

1. Zero Hour 01:03

2. A Losing Game 09:18
3. MegaDream 03: 28
4. Across The Frontier 07:38
5. Between Two Worlds 01:50
6. Nothing But A Shade 09:02
7. Live To See Tomorrow 05:16
8. Carnal Caravan 07:40
9. On The Other Side 05:18
10. Run In Parallel (Leo) 04:33
Bonus Track : 11. Requiem

Added: August 9th 2013
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2985
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by