Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Perikato: Kovat Ajat

If I'm not careful, this review will take me longer to write than it did to listen to this 7" EP. To readers, my advice is to just ignore the multiple track listings—mostly because this is a short musical burst, an EP that clocks in at just about 7 minutes, making it approximately 3.5 minutes per side. With 4-5 tracks per side, we're talking about very short songs and a very short release.

I'm not complaining, of course. Short releases are great, especially when they come from a punk band. There's a point to all this, some of which has to do with resisting the long form and its attendant excesses. I don't know much about this band—their promo materials are, like the release, brief and to the point. Needless to say, Perikato is a hardcore punk band that claims a heavy emphasis on the riff. What I hear is aggressive, raw, and wonderfully under produced punk rock. And that's never a bad thing.

Track Listing:
Side A
1. Häviäjä itsekin
2. Katastrofin uhalla
3. Sotaa vientituotteena
4. Sukupuuttojen maa

Side B
1. Taantuma
2. Kovat ajat
3. Heikompi aines
4. Sotaa
5. Kadotuksen ytimessä

Added: August 7th 2013
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: label facebook page
Hits: 1638
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by