Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

degreed: We Don't Belong

degreed (Robin Ericsson - Bass/Lead vocals, Mats Ericsson – Drums, Micke Jansson – Keyboards, Jesper Adefelt - Guitar/Backing vocals & Daniel Johansson - Guitar/Backing Vocals) are back with their second album and what a splendid return it is too. On the one hand it would be easy to say that if you want to party like its 1984 then look no further – Chicago alumni Bill Champlin even turns up to add his distinctive tones to "In for the Ride". However, on the other hand the band has added a highly modern twist to the classic AOR sound they purvey.

It goes without saying that melody is the key here along with the layered smooth production by songwriter Erik Lidbom but the album never resorts to the genre clichés which afflict so many other artists dealing in the same area. If a name band like (yikes) Coldplay or someone of their stature released "Inside of me" the mainstream media would be creaming themselves all over the floor. This song and many other have absolute crossover potential in the parallel universe where the media still plays rock music. As it is, if melodic rock works for you, then We Don't Belong will be an essential purchase.

Track Listing:

  1. Black Cat
  2. What If
  3. In For the Ride
  4. Inside of Me
  5. Follow Her Home
  6. Blind Hearted
  7. Here I Am
  8. Access Denied
  9. Coming Home
  10. We Don't Belong

Added: July 24th 2013
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2077
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by