Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Darkane: The Sinister Supremacy

What is about the Swedish diet that makes them so talented in the extreme metal category? The fact that all four instrumentalists of Darkane have been together since the bands' inception is a testament to the dedication these guys have for their art and one another. Since 1998, guitarists Christofer Malmström and Klas Ideberg, bassist Jörgen Löfberg, and drummer Peter Wildoer have been crafting a fusion of multiple styles of metal. Original vocalist Lawrence Mackrory is back after a decade-long absence and an energy of fearlessness can be heard. The recording of 2013's The Sinister Supremacy took place in Darkane's own recently-completed studio and production was handled in high fashion by Daniel Bergstrand (Meshuggah, In Flames, Dimmu Borgir).

Opening track "Sounds of Pre-Existence" is an orchestral prelude to the title track but don't mistake this as an indicator of forthcoming symphonic metal. The second track begins thrashy and intense with screamed vocals for the verses which then slide into a half-time melodic chorus. I suggest avoiding the temptation to peg Darkane as a metalcore group. There is some heavy stuff on this CD but they are careful to keep the elements well-balanced.

The rhythmic syncopation between the riffs and double-bass drumming is fantastic as you can hear on "Mechanically Divine," plus the chorus has a great hook. There are power-metal flourishes without swaying too far into pompousness.

The vocals on "The Decline" sound heavily-influenced by Meshuggah until the melodic chorus kicks in. "Insurrection is Imminent" opens with a slow rhythm and then blasts into high-speed thrash which reminds me of old school Testament.

This CD makes me want to listen again, which is an accomplishment; it also makes me want to discover their back catalogue, which is a very commendable achievement. The crystalline production and tight songwriting on The Sinister Supremacy could catapult Darkane into the next tier of international popularity next to their national compatriots In Flames and Soilwork.

Track Listing
1. Sounds of Pre-Existence
2. The Sinister Supremacy
3. Mechanically Divine
4. Ostracized
5. The Decline
6. Insurrection is Imminent
7. In the Absence of Pain
8. Humanity Defined
9. Hate Repentance State
10. Collapse of Illusions
11. By Darkness Designed
12. Existence is Just a State of Mind

Added: July 3rd 2013
Reviewer: Ryan Good
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2780
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by