Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Omega Experiment, The: The Omega Experiment

Originally released independently back in 2012 but picked up and reissued this year by Listenable Records, the self-titled debut from progressive metal act The Omega Experiment is one of those albums that might have passed a lot of people by the first time around but thankfully now there's no reason for that to happen. The band is comprised of Dan Wieten (guitars, vocals, bass, samples, production) and Ryan Aldridge (keyboards, samples), and together this duo have created some huge sounds here on this CD. A concept album chronicling Wieten's struggles with drug addiction and subsequent rehab, it's a heavy topic but the band make the most of it and deliver a really intense album that not only sounds great but delivers a strong message.

With layers of keyboards, heavy riffs, memorable melodies, huge grooves, and plenty of varied vocal styles, it's hard not to compare parts of this album to the many works of Devin Townsend. Tunes like "Gift" and "Stimulus" just crackle with some of the over the top energy that Devin is so famous for, and kudos to The Omega Experiment for creating such rich, symphonic, yet heavy stuff here that works on all levels. Though there are many guitar & keyboard parts, including lead & harmony lines, this never falls into typical prog-metal noodling, instead all these parts work to create textures and colors that support the fine vocal sections which are telling the story. "Furor" is one of the heavier numbers here, as manic programmed double bass drums blast through the arrangements underneath a swirling assortment of keyboards, frantic guitar riffs, and soaring vocals. Some of the vocal sections on "Karma" remind of vintage Styx, while the lush yet heavy sounds of "Terminus" recalls not only Devin Townsend but also Opeth, Rush, and Dream Theater. The uplifting closer "Paramount" will easily fill you with positive vibes, as Wieten lets the world know that there was indeed a happy ending to his story.

Apparently the band are already working on a follow-up for Listenable Records, along with possible tour dates, so if you didn't check this cool little gem out last year, do yourself a favor and make sure you do now. Looking forward to their next one!

Track Listing
1. Gift (6:01)
2. Stimulus (10:05)
3. Motion (3:49)
4. Tranquility (2:47)
5. Furor (7:04)
6. Bliss (2:17)
7. Karma (7:50)
8. Terminus (9:29)
9. Paramount (5:31)

Added: July 1st 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1499
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by