Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sidony Box: Rules

Sidony Box hail from Paris, France. The trio formed in 2009 and have three albums to their credit, the latest being Rules, which came out last year. In the band are Elie Dalibert (alto saxophone), Manu Adnot (guitars) and Arthur Narcy (drums).

This album is a tough nut to crack and after listening to Rules a couple of times I have to admit some of it still hasn't sunk in. The band play what they like to call, "music of the moment", and that is exactly what this platter offers. Improvised avant-garde jazz is what many of these tracks are all about. There is no doubt these musicians are stretching the boundaries of free form jazz and musical form and are very talented at what they do but some of these tracks leave me a little cold. The opening title track is a prime example. The music is so chaotic, there is little room to catch ones breath. It's like an all-out aural assault with squelching sax and chaotic rhythmic patterns. The talent is surely there but my ears just don't get it. Maybe the fact I am not a musician is the reason I had so much trouble getting through some of these tracks. Similarly, the heavy metal/avante-jazz track "Dark Wizard" takes a similar approach. The riffs are just too chaotic for me to really enjoy although I will say the band's creativity is off the charts. All the negativity aside there are some nice moments like the exquisitely tender "Nocturnum" with delicate acoustic guitar and sweeping sax passages. Narcy also displays a delicate touch, particularly with his deft cymbal work. The pop flavoured "Electric Love" is another favourite with some of Dalibert's most melodic sax on the album. The moody "Gotham" lays down some interesting guitar textures and sax lines creating what is arguably the albums most riveting and dynamic piece eventually leading to some truly haunting soundscapes near songs end.

The album ends with the atmospheric and calming "Ambre", another mellow piece led by Dalibert's soothing sax excursions.

For me Rules is a bit of a mixed bag. The extreme experimental tracks did little for me but when the band makes more discernible melodies there are some truly wonderful moments to be had. This is no doubt a grower and will take a few more listens to fully comprehend. For those of you who enjoy music on the edge you would do well to give this one a spin.

Track Listing:
1. Rules
2. Girafe
3. Nocturnum
4. Dark Wizard
5. Electric Love
6. Salsa
7. Gotham
8. Block Party
9. Ambre

Added: June 28th 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1471
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by