Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Tea Club, The: Quickly, Quickly, Quickly

For those of you unfamiliar with this up and coming New Jersey band, The Tea Club formed in 2003 and released their debut, General Winters Secret Museum in 2008 followed by Rabbit in 2010. I loved both albums so check out the reviews on this site. After the release of Rabbit, Kyle Minnick and Tom Brislin left the band and new members Charles Batdorf (bass) and Joe Rizzolo (drums) were added. The rest of the band are Patrick McGowan (vocals, guitar), Dan McGowan (guitar, vocals) and Becky Osenenko (keyboards). After all these lineup changes I can honestly say the band has not missed a beat with their latest album Quickly, Quickly, Quickly.

What is so refreshing is The tea Club are forging their own musical path. Sure there are moments that are inspired by the likes of Genesis, Camel, etc but in no way is the music derivative. Complex, melodic, and sublime musicianship is what the band brings to the table.

On the new album the band give us their longest song to date, the massive seventeen plus minute album opening track "Firebears". This has to be one the most ambitious songs they have ever done and it is also one of the best. Sweeping arrangements, complex drum patterns, fantastic keyboards and top notch vocals round out the package. Although it is long it doesn't feel that way as many paths are explored with softer sections leading to heavier parts and vice versa. Folks, this is epic progressive rock.

"The Eternal German Infant" is another excellent track with stellar drums and bass. Again heavier parts lead to softer moments of pure bliss. This song is so multi-faceted and complex without sounding overindulgent in the slightest. I love how the slower section near the end slowly builds into an intense listening session with some awesome keyboard flourishes and off kilter rhythmic passages.

"Mister Freeze" is a darker track yet very mellow. Delicate acoustic passages are offset with brooding synths, creepy effects and stand out bass. This one has an early Genesis feel.

The album ends with the entrancing "I Shall Consume Everything". Sweeping acoustic guitar and softly sung vocals lead to intensely played progressive rock. Maybe a bit of Beardfish in this one.

The Tea Club will satisfy even the most discerning listener, wrapping a musical tapestry that is uniquely their own. Quickly, Quickly, Quickly is one of the best albums of 2012. If you have yet to check them out this would be a great place to start. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Firebears
2. The Eternal German Infant
3. Mister Freeze
4. I Shall Consume Everything

Added: June 28th 2013
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1885
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by