Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Headless: Growing Apart

Headless started out back in the 1990's when the group formed by guitarists Walter Cianciusi and Dario Parente came to be. Headless released an EP "Future To Past" and backed that up with a full length album "Inside You" before ceasing all activity in 2000.

Moving on to many years later and in 2011 Walter and Dario resurrected Headless, and commenced working together on putting together songs for a new album which they have called Growing Apart. Lending their talents to this recording are two other individuals that are sure to prove enticing additions for many, with vocalist Goran Edman known for his prior work with such artists as guitarist Yngwie Malmsteen, and drummer Scott Rockenfield of the prominent group Queensryche. Both are of course experienced professionals who fit right in adding their welcome touch to the songs.

As the participants for Growing Apart are based in varying locations it was a case of recording parts of the album in Sweden, Italy and the USA and then Growing Apart was mastered in London. The theme of the album ties in with the name Growing Apart, looking at what causes different kinds of relationships to come to an end. With more that is relevant to rock than metal to be heard on Growing Apart the first track "God Of Sorrow And Grief" kicks in and Headless is off to an uplifting start. Growing Apart is not a straightforward album and though there is a degree of technicality it isn't the most complex musical recording either. Though "Be Myself" does present Rockenfield with the opportunity to stretch his playing further as the band plays a harder and more active style.

Headless shows what is possible when the right team joins forces, and offers nothing less than solid musicianship and enjoyable songs by a group that aren't following everyone else.

Track Listing
1) God Of Sorrow And Grief
2) Primetime
3) Nero Fantasies
4) Calf Love
5) The Backstabbers Around Us
6) Be Myself
7) Growing Apart
8) Sink Deep In A Fairytale
9) No Happy Ending
10) As Tears Go By

Added: June 23rd 2013
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1684
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by