Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Doobie Brothers, The: Live at Wolf Trap (Blu-ray)

Back in 2004, The Doobie Brothers performed this spirited set at Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts in Virginia, which includes many older and newer hits plus plenty of deep album cuts from throughout their career. It's also a tribute to drummers Keith Knudsen & Mike Hossack, both of who have passed away since this concert was recorded.

As far as spectacular high-definition Blu-ray concerts are concerned, Live at Wolf Trap is one of the best on the market. The picture quality is crystal clear and sparkling, and the audio dynamite, so you'll really feel like you are there in the front row or attached to one of the cameras. It's that good. The song selection is wonderful, as the band crank out the huge hits as well as plenty of rarities, with guitarists' Pat Simmons, Tom Johnston, and John McFee delivering virtuoso performances on electric & acoustic guitars. The inclusion of a horn section, as well as the excellent bass skills of Sklark and keyboard textures from Guy Allison only adds to the full sound that the band churn out. Highlights are many, but look for great performances of "South City Midnight Lady", "Jesus is Just Alright", "Dangerous", "Takin' It to the Streets", "Black Water", "Nobody", and "China Grove", among many others. There's even a nice acoustic set in the middle for all those that like the Doobies when they get rootsy.

Great stuff, and another fine release from the folks at Eagle Rock!

Track Listing
01. Rockin' Down the Highway
02. Jesus Is Just Alright With Me
03. Dangerous
04. Another Park, Another Sunday
05. People Gotta Love Again
06. Spirit
07. Steamer Lane Breakdown
08. South City Midnight Lady
09. Snake Man
10. Nobody
11. Five Corners
12. Rainy Day Crossroad Blues
13. Clear as the Driven Snow
14. Neal's Fandango
15. Takin' It to the Streets
16. Don't Start Me Talkin'
17. Take Me in Your Arms
18. Little Bitty Pretty One
19. Black Water
20. Long Train Runnin'
21. China Grove
22. Without You
23. Listen to the Music

Added: June 22nd 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1715
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by