Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Keith Jarrett/Gary Peacock/Jack DeJohnette: Somewhere

Recorded live at the Luzerne Concert Hall in Switzerland back in 2009, Somewhere is a magical set from Jarrett, Peacock, and DeJohnette, also known as the Standard's Trio, as they weave their way through a host of memorable jazz pieces. Each a superb improviser in their own right, but together these three legendary musicians certainly know how to take classic material and put their own spin on it.

Though ECM has released some fine CDs from the trio in recent years (Yesterdays and My Foolish Heart come to mind) most of that material was originally recorded & released back in 2001, so Somewhere is actually the first set of newly released music from them in 12 years. Their take on Miles Davis' "Solar" is a complete joy, with Jarrett's cascading piano melodies soaring over the top of Peacock's rumbling double bass and the always engaging drum fills from DeJohnette. The piano legend does wonders alongside Peacock's yearning bass notes on the tender "Stars Fell On Alabama", while the trio provide plenty of groove & swing on the bouncy "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea", complete with a rumbling bass solo and dynamic drum solo. Of course, many fans will no doubt be enchanted by the trio's interpretation of the West Side Story pieces "Somewhere" (which includes a lengthy & lively finale written by Jarrett called "Everywhere") and "Tonight", both extremely well done and delivered with flair, technique, and emotion. To stay on the same emotional level, the band closes out the set with the heart tugging Jimmy Van Heusen/Johnny Mercer number "I Thought About You", another fine performance from three world class jazz musicians.

With their ability to recreate all these classic melodies & arrangements, and to venture out into daring improvisation, the Standards Trio have done it once again here on Somewhere. With a seemingly endless supply of standards at their disposal, Keith Jarrett, Gary Peacock, and Jack DeJohnette can keep releasing live albums like this for years to come and I'm sure not a complaint will be heard anywhere.

Track Listing
1) Deep Space
2) Solar
3) Stars Fell On Alabama
4) Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
5) Somewhere/Everywhere
6) Tonight
7) I Thought About You

Added: June 19th 2013
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: ECM Records
Hits: 1507
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by